Need to bury an electric wire - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-30-2011, 06:57 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,912
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Need to bury an electric wire

I have buried many feet of electrical wiring over the years but as a rule I tried never to bury a splice because of the difficulty of keeping water out (and keeping the "juice" in!). I just discovered that I have been, for several years now, spending an unknown sum of money every month electrocuting Night Crawlers because my buried wire from my main shop to the small one had several connections that had just been taped before the wire was buried. I discovered this when the 50 AMP breaker started tripping when it rained recently but it obviously has been exposed for a long time.


Ok, I have two sections of new 10/2 weather proof (direct burial) wire that I need to splice in order to make the 75' I need and I don't want to have to buy new wire when I already have it just to avoid making a splice. Any suggestions on making a WATERPROOF and safe for damp ground splice in this wire?


BTW, the old wire was a lot heavier and the new set-up will only use a 30 AMP breaker.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-30-2011, 07:04 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: hamilton ont. canada
Age: 39
Posts: 180
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
pvc conduit and a waterproof junction box.

to do it by the book the junction box should be exposed at ground level.

to do it right you need 75ft of wire
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-30-2011, 07:20 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,912
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mud bros
to do it right you need 75ft of wire

That's the way I have always done it in the past but I thought maybe there is an acceptable way of waterproofing a splice on this thing. As long as it is safe I don't care if it is "by the book" or not because it is just going to a small shop to run lights and small hand tools, like I said as long as it is safe! I will not do anything if it might lead to someone being injured even if the danger would not occur for years.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-30-2011, 07:36 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: williamston sc
Posts: 319
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Get some self fusing rubber/silicone tape and repair your splice then wrap over it with some plastic wrap and tape it up and you should be good to go for years to come.You can get the tape at electrical dealers or well pump suppliers or order it from McMaster Carr or Grainger.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-30-2011, 08:08 PM
richard stewart 3rd's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 351W rebuild
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: tremont, pa.
Age: 70
Posts: 2,218
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Hi
Her are direct under ground splice kits, I think you'll like these.
Rich

http://www.elecdirect.com/catalog/53...Fctw5Qodhjtuow
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-01-2011, 05:49 AM
Steel's Avatar
The Ultimate Lurker;)
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fostoria, Ohio
Age: 41
Posts: 113
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The splice kits are the way to go. However, I generally only ever use the splice kits on larger multi-conductor cables. Usually on the smaller non signal carrying conductors I use a combination of Scotchkote(an electrical sealant), rubber tape, and black vinyl tape, with copper butt splices.

Use it in these steps:

1: Crimp on corresponding copper butt splice
2: Apply ScotchKote over entire splice area into 1 inch of insulation
3: After allowing the ScotchKote set up for a couple of minutes, apply a tight wrap of rubber tape covering entire splice surface
4: Repeat step 2
5: Now after allowing the ScotchKote to set up again, apply a tight wrap of vinyl tape
6: Repeat step 2 again

When you do this be sure you do one conductor at a time and stagger the splices. When you complete all your splices, tape all the splices up together and apply a final coat of ScotchKote and your done!! When done correctly these splices will out last all of us....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-01-2011, 06:50 AM
delawarebill's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: delaware
Posts: 1,297
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 19
Thanked 69 Times in 69 Posts
bury'n a splice

for me, and thats me.. i don't like to splice and then bury it. wether its direct or in piping.. your going 30a and getting a full run one pc ain't a hole lot of bucks.. IF for some reason in the future u have ANOTHER problem u gotta dig it up so u better take a measurement and know where that splice is..
sorry but i'd be rethink'n this splice thing... but again thats me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-01-2011, 06:57 AM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: General Motors transmissions Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: near Yellowstone park
Posts: 4,377
Wiki Edits: 27

Thanks: 12
Thanked 267 Times in 249 Posts
submersible pump splice.

they make splice kits for submersible well pumps and they are rated to be in a WET enviroment. Check out a pump supplier- farm irrigation supplier. I have underground elect and water to my pasture for the horse water trough and ice melt heater I need to move one. I don't remember how much slack i left in the wires before I brought the wires into conduit and up to the post mounted box but will have the pieces on hand .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-01-2011, 07:03 AM
Member
 

Last journal entry: JB's 37 Pickup
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Smoky Mountains
Age: 76
Posts: 2,358
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Yep, there are under ground splice kits as well as the well kits. Both are the same principle. Need the line marked well for future diggers safety. The best marking is on a drawing that can keep digging safe.

Trees
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 05-01-2011, 07:11 AM
eloc431962's Avatar
Evil Wicked Mean And Nasty
 
Last wiki edit: Pilot bearing and bushings
Last journal entry: roof repair
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: back in the garage.
Posts: 13,762
Wiki Edits: 37

Thanks: 50
Thanked 28 Times in 24 Posts
I would use a shrink wrap or shrink wrap tube on it after you tape it up real good. JMO


Cole
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 05-01-2011, 09:41 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,912
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by richard stewart 3rd
Hi
Her are direct under ground splice kits, I think you'll like these.
Rich

http://www.elecdirect.com/catalog/53...Fctw5Qodhjtuow

Yes that's what I need! I will get a couple of extra one's since I have run into this before and needed something like this.



I already posted this reply earlier this morning, don't know where the dickens it went?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2011, 12:13 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: getting started
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: roseville minnesota
Posts: 64
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 15
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
splice kit

I have used this a few times for repairs, I wouldnt use it on a new installation. there is nothing in the code precluding you from doing as such. Here is one available at most hardware stores.

http://solutions.3m.com/wps/portal/3...beQT6SM2Z6BCgl
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2011, 12:57 PM
OneMoreTime's Avatar
Hotrodders.com moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage
Last journal entry: Yard Dog pic
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Washington State
Age: 70
Posts: 7,431
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 59
Thanked 163 Times in 152 Posts
The splice kits are good..used them at a large shopping center where we had a lot of underground wiring for parking lot lites and signage..

Sam
__________________
I have tried most all of it and now do what is known to work..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 05-03-2011, 01:14 AM
dinger's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage
Last journal entry: 36 Ford painting
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Visalia, Ca.
Age: 61
Posts: 2,711
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 104
Thanked 111 Times in 77 Posts
You're going to miss them night-crawlers when fishing season opens.
__________________
"When I was younger, I could remember anything, whether it had happened or not." - Mark Twain
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 05-03-2011, 09:08 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
The splice kits when used properly will provide a water tight connection suitable for direct burial. In industry they are used all the time.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on wire size for Holley electric choke grobb284 Electrical 5 04-13-2009 02:42 PM
Help me wire my ELECTRIC FANS! DarknessSpawned Electrical 8 12-11-2008 09:43 AM
Fuel pump, electric choke and windsheild wipers on same wire sexypizzaman Engine 8 06-05-2008 07:23 PM
Electric Choke Wire GCD1962 Electrical 4 08-18-2007 08:25 PM
OEM electric fan wire colors sedan_dad Electrical 0 06-12-2002 02:26 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.