Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board

Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/)
-   Interior (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/interior/)
-   -   need help (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/need-help-224164.html)

perky 09-19-2012 07:51 AM

need help

i have been doing upholstery off and on for 25 years. ok mostly off . i am completely self taught . i have never worked for anyone in an upholstery shop . i learned everything by trial and error before there was the internet . i do a couple jobs and get so frustrated that i just quit . then after about a year or 2 i try again .i keep coming back to it . every body is usually happy with my work . i am never happy with the work . i do your usual bench seats , boat cushions , bucket seats . i want to do outstanding work like the material looks like it was poured on . most new car factory work looks like that . what is it i don't know? is it the foam or padding or the type of material or heat ? is it time spent just moving and manipulating the material ? is it precisely cut patterns ? i'm lost . to me the brown leather 58 corvette on leather seats.com is an example of what i am talking about . outstanding job . thank you for any help

timothale 09-19-2012 02:23 PM

read Dan

Dantwolakes is a professional upholsterer, has posted a lot of info here on HR and other forums, do a search here , and on the net. Lots of picts , good info, I was hoping he would do a eBook like Cboy did here, The scratch built hot rod.

DanTwoLakes 09-19-2012 06:41 PM