Need help - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-19-2005, 10:11 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Need help

I am trying to put 2 amps in my 86 olds cutlass to run 4 12 subs. how do i connect both of them to the head unit?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-19-2005, 11:25 AM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 16,898
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 20
Thanked 260 Times in 213 Posts
Got me....we don't seem to get many stereo questions here.. Someone here may know, but I suggest that you "Google" it for one of the ...."Thump, Thump" forums.
__________________
Ontario Rodders

Budget RVs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-19-2005, 02:25 PM
WakBordr7387's Avatar
Gone fishin'
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners
Last journal entry: blah.......again
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Texas Coast
Age: 29
Posts: 667
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Try the12volt.com they handle more of that kinda stuff.
I have some experience working with this kinda stuff so I can help to an extent. The head unit will need to have to have 2 sets of RCA plugs. Then you run a set of RCA wires from there to each amp. You will also need to run a remote wire fromt eh head unit to the amps. It is one of the wires in the wiring harness coming from the back of the head unit. Im not sure which one it is but I think it may be the blue/white wire. If it were me I would try splicing the remote wire to both amps, but Im not for sure if it would be a good idea or not.
Hope this helps

Brad

EDIT: I forgot one other thing. What is the headunit? If it is a factory headunit you will need an adaptor for the RCAs, I think its called a line output converter. If its an aftermarket head unit, pretty much all of the cheapy ones come with at least one set of RCAs, But most nowadays have 2 sets. And you will need a set for each amp you want to run.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-19-2005, 03:40 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
2 Amps

Doc here,

Don't take this as gospel...but electronically, you would need a "Y" adapter for each set of inputs (Left, right, Front , Rear if so equipped)The rest of the installation would be as per normal with the exception to the amp energize lines (parallel those..) Provided each output has it's own speaker..

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.