Need help with 71 Chevy Nova - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2010, 09:43 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Need help with 71 Chevy Nova

Im a beginner hot rodder and for my first hot rod Ive decided to do a 71 Nova because its my favorite car but Ive run in to trouble. I want to drop a 496 ci engine in it with a dual carb blower and I found a blower kit and carbs but I dont know if they are compatible. The blower kit is a BBC INT 8.71 3V 1/2 pitch and the carbs are Holley 4150 street 850 cfm. Also I cant even find a lighter drivetrain. Im so confused please help

Last edited by novafreak6901; 09-22-2010 at 09:53 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-22-2010, 10:24 AM

Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 31

you do realise, that engine combo is $13k easy.. if this is truely your first hotrod... a 350 w/ 4bbl carb will propel that car along quite nicely.. and if you want to try your hand at supercharging, you can put a low boost on a 144 blower on a stock 350 with 8.5:1 or less compression, and end up with ~400 hp in good tune
Old 09-22-2010, 03:43 PM

hey thanks where do you reccomend I buy the carb and blower
Old 09-22-2010, 03:50 PM
More for Less Racer

Quote:
Originally Posted by novafreak6901
hey thanks where do you reccomend I buy the carb and blower
If your going to actually do it... BDS for the blower; BDS, Holley, Pro Systems, or Barry Grant for the blower specific carbs.

You have a steep learning curve in front of you, do your homework and do a lot of searches on this and other forums. Don't just expect someone to hand you all the answers, learn enough to ask intelligent questions.