Need help with engine balancing - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-07-2007, 03:53 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Need help with engine balancing

I decided a couple months ago that I would like to try and tackle the task of building an engine, even though I have no previous experience in the field (but I learn quickly). So I went with an SBC 350 (1970 2 bolt casting already machined 60 over), GM forged crank, and original heads 76cc. I bought the engine from a friend who ran it in his mud truck, and since I am quite familiar with his driving habits, I completely disassembled it to ensure I wouldn't run into any surprises in the future (even though the engine only had about 10K miles on a fresh rebuild). The cylinder walls and crankshaft were machined on the last rebuild and are still in perfect condition.

So I have all the parts I need to put the engine back together, and besides being completely clueless as to all the nuances experienced engine builders know how to handle, I feel fairly confident I can put it back together successfully.

But...do I need to have the crankshaft looked at by a machine shop before reassembling the engine? It was just machined 10,000 miles ago (plus it's already machined to its max tolerances). Also, I noticed the harmonic balancer has five consecutive holes drilled in the back side of it which were not stock. The dampener is in pretty rough shape so I was thinking about replacing it, but will I have any problems since the new one won't have the custom holes? Any other tips on the build would be helpful as well.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-07-2007, 04:34 PM
Yada Yada Yada

Last photo: