Need help getting engine started after upgrades! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2005, 06:09 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Need help getting engine started after upgrades!

Hi there all. I could REALLY use help getting my engine to start since it's on my daily driver and I'm stuck until we do. I have a gen 1 chevy 350. I just put edelbrock rpm heads, rpm cam, edelbrock pushrods, and crane roller rockers on. The problem I am having is after we installed all of this for some reason the fuel pumping isn't pumping fuel through. Everything else seems to be in perfect working order except that. We tried to replace the fuel pump real fast in case it was bad but had the same result. I then tried to putting the inlet line to the pump in a cup of fuel to see if it was a gas tank issues but nothing again. Next we took off the pump and cranked it over to see if the rod that pushed the pump was moving and it was. We also tried pushing the pumps lever by hand and you can hear air moving when you do it so I think both pumps work. It would be REALLY odd or mine to stop working right after installing all this stuff and for my buddy's back up pump to not work either. The engine seems to be cranking over at a acceptable speed. Any ideas here folks? If I can't find any better possible solutions to get it running then I am gonna try a electic fuel pump on Monday to see if that gets it going. I still want to know what the heck is going on with it though. My buddy is a certified mechanic and has done this sort of work more than a few times. We must have spent 4 hours racking our brains trying to come up with possible solutions. HELP!!!!!
Eric
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2005, 06:35 AM
DoubleVision's Avatar
Not Considered a Senior Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Heart Of Dixie
Age: 40
Posts: 10,643
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 56 Times in 53 Posts
Perhaps a dumb question to ask, but there is gas in the tank? I would add 5 gallons just to make sure. Other than that, I would recommend checking the lines for a possible pin hole, if there`s a hole in line, no matter what pump you use it`ll pump air.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2005, 07:21 AM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 61
Posts: 16,789
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 19
Thanked 237 Times in 193 Posts
Did you pull the fuel line off of the carb and crank it over to see if its pumping? A clear in line filter is always handy to have to see this.

It may be pumping but the needle/seat in the carb is stuck.
__________________
Ontario Rodders
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2005, 08:47 AM
Rambo_The_Dog's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Shop Remodel Progress
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 736
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Check you gas levels just as someone else posted - I did that once, ran the battery down trying to start it then realized there wasn't enough fuel in the system...

The only other thing I would check is the fuel pressure - an inline vacuum guage with a t-fitting would get you there. I'd put it on the fuel pump outlet to carb line and all you have to do is crank it over and see if it builds up enough pressure
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2005, 09:36 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well I filled the tank up that morning so I had at least 20 gallons in it. I also blew hp air through the lines to make sure they where clear and they where. I had said earlier that I bypassed the tank by taking the inlet line right under the pump and put it in a cup of fuel and tried cranking it then. I outlet line right after the pump was also hanging off to see if anything came out of the pump. Nothing. Now keep in mind we did check to make sure it was on the rod pushing the pump multiple times and also that the rod was moving. My fuel pump worked fine that morning and he said his extra should have worked too so I find it unlikely that both pumps are bad right after I installed that stuff. Weird problem huh. I've done everything possible to narrow it down to the pump isn't pumping but the rod moves and the pump works far as we can tell. AHHHHHH this is so frustrating cause it SHOULD work!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2005, 10:11 AM
xntrik's Avatar
Save a horse, Ride a Cowboy.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 5,131
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Try this.....fill the carb bowls through the vent tube...... dribble some gas into the venturis while cranking and see if the thing will run... If you can keep it running long enough it might pick up fuel from the tank and fill the carb bowls.

All things being equal....... the only variable in your equation is that the fuel pump lobe on the cam is of a smaller radius and the pump is not stroking long enough stroke to hit the short rod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2005, 10:45 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yeah I was wondering if the rod was shorter than normal. Yesterday my buddy pulled one from another 350 he had sitting around and it was the same size. I couldn't see Edelbrock not making that a common recommendation if you put in their cam. I plan on calling them tomorrow to see if they every heard of this before. Has anyone here every heard of a problem like this with putting on the RPM cam?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2005, 11:56 AM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 61
Posts: 16,789
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 19
Thanked 237 Times in 193 Posts
If the rod is moving on the cam, and you are not getting fuel from the pump. you must have a bad pump.....unless it is just sucking air. I have seen where there is a hole in the top of the pipe coming out of the tank....no spillage, but just sucking air...Check that.
__________________
Ontario Rodders
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2005, 05:59 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 61
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Doc here,

Check and smell your oil...

Bet ya got a diaphragm pinhole...in the pump..

If you have another known good pump, swap it out.

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2005, 08:49 PM
arch's Avatar
My bike has 4wheel disc brakes
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MD
Posts: 382
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Could also hook an air line up to the fuel line and see if it will hold pressure?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ENGINE BALANCING NAIRB Engine 19 12-29-2013 06:45 PM
53 Packard Clipper Engine Swap? 53packard Engine 16 07-06-2010 04:32 PM
Build for Hp or Torque? Venturat Engine 76 09-23-2008 10:22 AM
327 question adam15425 Engine 80 10-13-2004 09:22 PM
New Engine Built & Dyno'd babe_n_indy Engine 69 09-09-2004 07:26 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.