Need IFS help on 1934 Plymouth - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-19-2004, 02:17 PM
34 Plymouth Street Rod

Wiki Edits: 0

Question Need IFS help on 1934 Plymouth

I recently started working on a 1934 Plymouth 4 door sedan street rod project. I'm a newbie to car building, this is my first project. I've been reading everything I can get my hands on for several months now, including this website, but I still have a few specific problems to deal with. The goal is to install a Mustang II IFS system with airbags. This year model was the first to get IFS from the factory, but the geometry is terrible. The lower control arms extend almost all the way to the center of the crossmember. I can just image the car leaning over in the turns. The main problem is that the frame rails are not straight. They bow outward where the original suspension mounts to it. I can't just buy a MII IFS kit, like a Heidt's Superide, because the frame is not perfectly straight and boxed. So my question is, has anyone ever figured out how to install nice looking, great handling, upper and lower control arms, with airbags on the original frame? I'm willing to do some minor fabrication work myself, but I don't have the experience to figure out the geometry for a custom built setup. The other option is to go with a new front frame clip, like one from Fat Man Fabrications. He has the entire front end assembled and ready to graft on, but it's $2,400, and I'm not too crazy about the upper airbag mounting bracket. Upgrades like Wilwood brakes on drilled and slotted rotors would probably jack the price way up. I'm also a little nervous about hacking the frame off, not to mention spending that much money. If you would