Need info - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-15-2005, 04:16 PM
Skater dude

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Need info

Hi.

I'm new to hotrodding and working with cars in general. To be honest with you, I don't even have my licence yet. The reason I'm here is because I've been with tools all my life. My dad has a workshop and I used to be putting something together in there all the time. I've been building things like model cars, wooden ships and stuff like that for years. But i don't live with my real dad anymore so, no worksop. But in technology class, when we were building CO2 cars, I was the first one on everything and to be done. The teacher didn't even explain, like she did to everyone alse, how to do most of the stuff. I just did it my self and my car got the best time in the school.

I've been interested in building something like a model T hotrod that looks pritty cool, but can be used for everyday driving. I don't really need any big turbocahrgers or NOS, just something to impress the dude next to me at a stoplight and to get from point A to B.

I know you guys probably think that I don't know whant I'm talking about and how hard building a car is, but hear me out. My plan is to start in the near future and finish by the time I got my licence.

I got some questions:
1. What are the legalities of homemade cars on public roads. I was looking at the NY DMV web site for the specs list. They gave me an adress to send a letter of request to but I just want to know if anyone here built anything from scratch and driven it on public roads.

2. Does it cost, and if yes how much, to get an old engine from a scrap yard. I'd like to fix it up and use for the car.