Neutral Saftey Switch help.. - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2010, 12:08 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: comming along
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Duluth, Mn
Posts: 652
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Neutral Saftey Switch help..

Hi I have a neutral saftey switch that came with the Lokar shifter. On my fuse block from Affordable Street Rods it shows two places for the wires for the neutral saftey switch. I have one wire going to the switch. Another wire going to the starter. The third wire goes to the switch, and the 4th wire goes to the steering coluum. Should the wire that goes to the steering coluum also go to the ign. switch on the fuse block?? The car starts in all of the gears.. Thanks.. Al

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2010, 04:06 PM
sqzbox's Avatar
My pipes are my music
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: indiana
Age: 64
Posts: 2,938
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
The reason it starts in gear is one of your wires is connected to a "full time" hot connection. It should only get a hot signal from the P or N position.
We'll see how this thread pans out because I'm not familiar with after market shifters. At least you don't have the problem of engine cranking but won't start (read similar posts at bottom of this page. good luck

Last edited by sqzbox; 07-12-2010 at 04:12 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2010, 04:17 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: comming along
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Duluth, Mn
Posts: 652
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Do you think that maybe I should cut the wire going to the column, and move it to the ign spot on the fuse block??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2010, 04:21 PM
sqzbox's Avatar
My pipes are my music
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: indiana
Age: 64
Posts: 2,938
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Sorry, I can't advise you on that. I'd be in over my head and wouldn't want to screw it up for you. Be patient someone will get back to you on this. There's a lot of guy's running Lokar shifters out there. You'll probably have your info before 9 O'clock.

Is your shifter auto or manual? that's how dumb I am on the shifter thing!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2010, 04:28 PM
Joe G's Avatar
Registered user
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 592
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 80
Thanked 36 Times in 35 Posts
I'm not familiar with the fuse panel you are using, so I looked on the Affordable Street Rods website hoping to find a wiring diagram or installation instructions for their products - sadly I found none.

Based on the pictures on their website and the labels on their terminal strips, I would bet it gets wired as follows:



This is just a guess, but I hope it helps....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2010, 05:06 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: comming along
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Duluth, Mn
Posts: 652
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Looks pretty much like what i have done. The only thing that I am wondering is on the fuse panel sheet.. it says that one of the wires should go to # 3 on my fuse block. That is the feed to the ign. switch. Should the wire go there??, or still have it run to the column??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00029.JPG
Views:	53
Size:	57.8 KB
ID:	46702  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2010, 05:59 PM
Joe G's Avatar
Registered user
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 592
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 80
Thanked 36 Times in 35 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by APalusky
Looks pretty much like what i have done. The only thing that I am wondering is on the fuse panel sheet.. it says that one of the wires should go to # 3 on my fuse block. That is the feed to the ign. switch. Should the wire go there??, or still have it run to the column??
No, It says the wire should go to terminal #3 on the IGNITION SWITCH, not the FUSE BLOCK.

The #3 terminal on the ignition switch must be what GM usually marks as "S" - the terminal that only gets power when the key is in the start position.

So in answer to your question, the wire should go to the column (assuming that's where the ignition switch is) and not to the #3 terminal on the fuse block.

Good Luck...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2010, 06:06 PM
Joe G's Avatar
Registered user
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 592
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 80
Thanked 36 Times in 35 Posts
Another thing I just noticed on the picture you posted is a terminal jumper shown to the right of the NSS terminals on the fuse block.

If this jumper is installed, it will bypass the neutral safety switch and allow the engine to be started in any gear (sound familiar?).

Hope this helps....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2010, 06:12 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: comming along
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Duluth, Mn
Posts: 652
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'll go out and look.. I will let you know.. Al
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2010, 06:21 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: comming along
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Duluth, Mn
Posts: 652
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ok.. No jumper. I can start the engine in Park, Neutral, and Drive. Not 1, or 2. Just those 3. Al
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2010, 06:42 PM
blue54's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Graham, Washington
Age: 59
Posts: 46
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Having worked with a few Lokar shifters I have run into this same problem. If it uses the detents in the transmission and not in the shifter you might try adjusting the cable on the transmission in low gear and see if that lines up the netural safety switch. I have also had to modify the ramp on the shifter arm where the switch comes in contact to stop the drive start issue. Good luck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2010, 08:14 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: comming along
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Duluth, Mn
Posts: 652
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Huh?? All I can tell you is that it is a floor mounted shifter..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2010, 08:32 PM
Joe G's Avatar
Registered user
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 592
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 80
Thanked 36 Times in 35 Posts
Did you install the shifter yourself? Do you still have the alignment tool and the instructions?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2010, 08:40 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: comming along
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Duluth, Mn
Posts: 652
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes. I installed it myself. Is that little peg that goes into that silver box?? Otherwise.. It is a tail shifter. It came with two sleaves. New bolts and a rod for the shifter. It used a Allen wrench to tighten it down. I guess the silver box and the peg is for the shift indicator.. I can look up the instructions, though I think they are still in the garage.. Al
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2010, 09:04 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: comming along
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Duluth, Mn
Posts: 652
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I found the instructions online. I think I have that plug, but that switch was already installed when I put in the shifter. Al
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Roll Bar Install Advice Mustangsaly General Rodding Tech 12 12-02-2007 08:33 AM
? about my neutral safety switch in C10 Streetmaster Electrical 4 08-30-2005 01:41 AM
Neutral Safety switch Hook-up 39chevy Electrical 2 07-18-2004 04:26 PM
neutral safety switch zipfactor Electrical 2 08-30-2003 07:58 PM
Neutral safety switch help insomniac Electrical 10 10-10-2002 12:00 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.