New 7.5 hp Compressor. What breaker and wire size?? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2011, 06:33 PM
roger1's Avatar
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Angelo,TX
Age: 59
Posts: 1,099
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
New 7.5 hp Compressor. What breaker and wire size??

I just bought an Ingersoll Rand 2475N7.5 compressor today at Tractor Supply. It's a single phase 7.5hp motor.

http://www.tractorsupply.com/ingerso...ressor-3452272

I can't find anything in the instructions that says what breaker and wire size to use. I figure I'll need 35 feet of wire to connect to the main panel.

I saw one web site say that this is a 40 Amp unit but that is all I can find.
I'm figuring I need #8 or #6 wire but don't know if a 40 Amp breaker is enough or if I need a 50 or even bigger.

Don't know why they are not giving me more information to help me out with this.

Advice will be appreciated.

Addition:
Sticker on motors says:
Made for Ingersoll Rand by Weg IR part# 23172604
1 PH 208-230V
34 00-32 00 A

Does that mean 34 Amps start and 32 continuous??
If that's right then it would be 40 Amp breaker and #8 wire, right?

    Advertisement

Last edited by roger1; 12-29-2011 at 06:50 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2011, 08:18 PM
streetbruiser's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 76
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm assuming 220v not 110 right? 10 gauge wire is all that is needed for 220v and a 2 pole 40 amp breaker.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2011, 08:45 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,145
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 156 Times in 144 Posts
10 will work , But I used 8 because I also use the extension cord for the compressor to run my gen set with the pwr goes out. I have two cords 50 foot each, that I use to run the gen set..... they double as the pwr in for my welder and and air compressor.

I also used two 20 amp breakers to pwr the compressor etc...... works fine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2011, 08:46 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sellersburg IN
Posts: 66
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by roger1
I just bought an Ingersoll Rand 2475N7.5 compressor today at Tractor Supply. It's a single phase 7.5hp motor.

http://www.tractorsupply.com/ingerso...ressor-3452272

I can't find anything in the instructions that says what breaker and wire size to use. I figure I'll need 35 feet of wire to connect to the main panel.

I saw one web site say that this is a 40 Amp unit but that is all I can find.
I'm figuring I need #8 or #6 wire but don't know if a 40 Amp breaker is enough or if I need a 50 or even bigger.

Don't know why they are not giving me more information to help me out with this.

Advice will be appreciated.

Addition:
Sticker on motors says:
Made for Ingersoll Rand by Weg IR part# 23172604
1 PH 208-230V
34 00-32 00 A

Does that mean 34 Amps start and 32 continuous??
If that's right then it would be 40 Amp breaker and #8 wire, right?
40 amp breaker and #8. Dont use #10 on a 40 amp breaker!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-30-2011, 02:58 PM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: 2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 72
Posts: 1,360
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 63 Times in 59 Posts
The voltages on the nameplate 208/230 V are voltages commonly used in the US.
The ampere ratings on the nameplate are the full load ampere (FLA) ratings 34/32 A respectively for the motor.
The NEC (code) requires that the table 430.238 be used to determine the wire and breaker sizes.
For a 7.5 hp 1 ph 230 volt motor 40 amps is listed in the table.
A load factor is then applied to the 40 amps. 40 X 1.25 = 50 amps. Per table 310.16 - #6 wire is required.
A minimum (nominal) breaker is also 50 amps but can be increased to a maximum size of 100 amps.
For the purposes of the compressor a 60 amp breaker should be used.

vicrod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-30-2011, 03:04 PM
roger1's Avatar
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Angelo,TX
Age: 59
Posts: 1,099
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Thanks Vic.

I already bought my stuff this morning. I bought 35 feet of #6/2 Romex, 4 ft of #6/2 S/O and a 60 Amp disconnect box. (I'll use the S/O from the disconnect to the compressor.
I bought a 50 Amp breaker however. Am OK with that as long as is doesn't pop? At least it is easy to change if I have to go to a 60 Amp.

Roger
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-30-2011, 03:34 PM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: 2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 72
Posts: 1,360
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 63 Times in 59 Posts
That should be good.
The disconnect is a must for safety.

vicrod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-30-2011, 03:41 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 33
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Air comp

FYI. # 10 30 amps, #8 40 amps, #6 60 amps. I would put it on a 50 amp breaker and use # 6wire.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-31-2011, 07:14 AM
Member
 

Last journal entry: JB's 37 Pickup
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Smoky Mountains
Age: 76
Posts: 2,358
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Roger, I have the same compressor (part number with Baldor motor) and use 10-2 wire with a 50 ft run, protected by a 50 amp breaker. This was recommended by a professional electrician and supported by a local electrical motor repairman. Have not had any problems since installed and the compressor has been used at least 5 days a week. Your larger wire is over kill, but will never hurt. It gives you room for expanding other circuits in your shop in the future, if desired.

Trees
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-31-2011, 01:55 PM
roger1's Avatar
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Angelo,TX
Age: 59
Posts: 1,099
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by trees
Roger, I have the same compressor (part number with Baldor motor) and use 10-2 wire with a 50 ft run, protected by a 50 amp breaker. This was recommended by a professional electrician and supported by a local electrical motor repairman. Have not had any problems since installed and the compressor has been used at least 5 days a week. Your larger wire is over kill, but will never hurt. It gives you room for expanding other circuits in your shop in the future, if desired.
Trees
Trees,
I really don't understand how an electrician could have recommended that. That definitely does not meet code for a 7.5 HP motor that draws over 30 amps.
I think you need to do some more checking. I think what you are doing could be dangerous.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12-31-2011, 01:56 PM
roger1's Avatar
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Angelo,TX
Age: 59
Posts: 1,099
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Got air!!!!

Up and running just 30 minutes ago.
Man this compressor is quiet compared to my old one. That was a pleasant surprise.

Thanks for all the help guys!!!!!



Control box:

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12-31-2011, 02:51 PM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 57
Posts: 5,362
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 9
Thanked 145 Times in 128 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by trees
Roger, I have the same compressor (part number with Baldor motor) and use 10-2 wire with a 50 ft run, protected by a 50 amp breaker. This was recommended by a professional electrician and supported by a local electrical motor repairman. Have not had any problems since installed and the compressor has been used at least 5 days a week. Your larger wire is over kill, but will never hurt. It gives you room for expanding other circuits in your shop in the future, if desired.

Trees
10 Wire is much to small for a 50 amp breaker. The wire may burn up before the breaker pops.
__________________
Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity



Chet
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12-31-2011, 08:36 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,145
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 156 Times in 144 Posts
Nice looking install
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 12-31-2011, 09:22 PM
adantessr's Avatar
'23 T-Bucket Pickup
 
Last wiki edit: Troubleshooting ignition Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Charleston , WV
Age: 62
Posts: 1,552
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 46
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannronn
FYI. # 10 30 amps, #8 40 amps, #6 60 amps. I would put it on a 50 amp breaker and use # 6wire.
This is very accurate information here, and needs to be heeded. Also, I might add, that 14 awg is 15 amps max, and 12 awg is 20 amps max.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 12-31-2011, 09:46 PM
matts37chev's Avatar
I don't understand?
 

Last journal entry: Try again
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Shelton,Wa.
Posts: 2,485
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 26
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
you are not done!!


there is not an easy to get at water drain on the bottom of that tank

it needs a 90 degree elbow screwed into the bottom with a 6" - 8" nipple and a ball valve sticking out, where you can get at it easy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
60 amp circuit breaker and #10 ga. wire recommended??? HotRodMan Garage - Tools 9 01-24-2011 09:55 AM
welder fuse panel breaker size? jss Garage - Tools 35 11-07-2010 06:54 AM
air compressor size miamipops Garage - Tools 1 04-27-2010 08:17 AM
84 Cutlass, Chevy 383, How to wire a/c compressor labreejr Electrical 15 12-10-2008 12:56 AM
How to wire a 2 stage air compressor ? SCHOONER Garage - Tools 23 06-25-2007 02:46 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.