New, About to purchase a compressor, Advice - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-11-2009, 10:00 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

New, About to purchase a compressor, Advice

Hey guys, I think i registered on here some time back and even posted some but I totally forgot any username let alone password so I made a new one

Ive been working on cars for years now, 25 years old, and would love to have a career based around cars. Well see how that goes down.

Anyhow, I just bought my own house out here in Socal and I can finally have my dream garage I've been thinking about for so many years. I will make sure to post some pics up once I have it finished in 2 months or so.

Anyhow I wanted to run my compressor choices past you guys to get some of your opinions. I've done allot of reading on this forum and I have experience with trying to paint cars with a 30 gallong compressor and a decently low cfm rating. It's tuff! and you can definitely tell at your end of the paint gun when your compressor has run out of air and is running to try and keep up haha!

This time I'm not taking any chances, since my friend and I are going to be doing full on car restorations.

THe intended use of this thing will be 2 guys working at the same time, probably both using DA sanders at the same time, painting 1 car at a time, running a blast cabinet, air ratchets and cutoffs. I've converted all my tools over to air tools. I am most worried about the 2 DA sanders @ once because I know the use allot of air.

I have 2 compressors that I have narrowed it down to, both Eaton. Its either going to be the 10HP 80 Gallon Unit, or the 15HP 120 Galllon Unit. Both single phase power.

The 80 Gall puts out 34CFM @ 175PSI