New compressor, need regulator... - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-08-2005, 09:03 PM
S10xGN's Avatar
Gotta love a turbo!
 

Last journal entry: Body on Frame today.
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Port Neches, TX
Age: 60
Posts: 1,558
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 49 Times in 47 Posts
New compressor, need regulator...

Hi all,

Just received my new Northern 7.5 HP, 29 cfm compressor today, this thing is huge! It puts out 175 PSI, but the only reducing regulator/filters I can find are rated to 125 PSI max. What are all the (real) garages using? I'm planning on splitting the output: 100 PSI to my bench via the regulator and full pressure to my hose reel with 3/8" hose.

Thanks!

Russ
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-08-2005, 09:35 PM
4 Jaw Chuck's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 4,814
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 60 Times in 48 Posts
Run the compressor at 125 psi.
__________________
Outlawed tunes from outlawed pipes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-09-2005, 06:52 AM
cboy's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Finished
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atwater, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 3,913
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
4 Jaw,

But how do you change the output of the compressor when there is no regulator or control valve on it? My Porter Cable also shuts off at 175 psi and I don't see any way on the machine or in the manual how to alter that. My regulator is rated at 150 PSI and I'm just running it that way for the time being and hoping I don't do any damage to anything.

Dewey
__________________
Always learning...and sharing what I've learned. The Scratch-Built Hot Rod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-09-2005, 09:30 AM
Weimer's Avatar
Kenneth Howard hates you...
 

Last journal entry: door pics smaller
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bellefontaine,Ohio
Age: 38
Posts: 572
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Adjust the pressure switch on the compressor...It is what tells the compressor to turn on and shut off.
Looks something like this.
Later,
WEIMER
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-09-2005, 11:58 AM
cboy's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Finished
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atwater, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 3,913
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Yup, got one of those. I'll have to go inspect the innerds.
__________________
Always learning...and sharing what I've learned. The Scratch-Built Hot Rod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-09-2005, 05:16 PM
S10xGN's Avatar
Gotta love a turbo!
 

Last journal entry: Body on Frame today.
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Port Neches, TX
Age: 60
Posts: 1,558
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 49 Times in 47 Posts
Page 3 of my compressor manual:

10.) Pressure switch - ...NEVER attempt to adjust the pressure switch. Tampering with the switch will void ALL warranties.

Oh well, I guess I own it for sure now! Had a h#ll of time though, it's a tamper-proof torx adjuster that was somewhere between a 15 and a 20. I got it to move enough to end up with 150 off. I may try taking the screw out and replacing it with an allen head.

Russ
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-09-2005, 05:40 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,908
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Be very careful as the adjustment range may not allow what you need and you may need a new switch if you go that route. You would be a lot better off to find a regulator that is rated for what you need as you are defeating the advantage of your two stage compressor! You have gone the extra mile to get an excellent CFM delivery so why waste it now? A lot of people try to get by on an insufficient CFM rating and end up with problems but you have all the air you will need if you set it up right so my advice would be to get the right parts and use what you paid for to it's full advantage. Hey, a lot of guys would really envy that kind of air delivery and a regulator can't be all that hard to find.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-13-2005, 06:20 PM
roger1's Avatar
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Angelo,TX
Age: 58
Posts: 1,077
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Oldred is right. NEVER mess with the pressure switch on a compressor.

If you go up, you would be past the rated max pressure of the rig.
If you go down, you would lose performance on the CFM ratings which makes no sense to do.

If you need lower pressures get an adjustable pressure valve.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2005, 03:18 AM
Old enough to know better
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 417
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I run my big 2-stage through a $20 Harbor Freight Filter-Regulator al the time and don't have a bit of trouble. Remember, for best effectiveness, you want your filter as far for the compressor as possible. Put it at your bench, not at the compressor. If the compressor is next to the bench, move it It will drive you crazy if you are too close. I also use a piece of flexible line to run my air intake outside and that makes a big difference in noise.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2005, 06:38 AM
cboy's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Finished
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atwater, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 3,913
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Julmer,

Sounds like a good idea. Do you happen to have a pic of the flexible intake line you use and the connection to the compressor? I suppose I could experiment on my own but it always helps to see how somebody did it successfully.

Dewey
__________________
Always learning...and sharing what I've learned. The Scratch-Built Hot Rod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2005, 04:58 PM
roger1's Avatar
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Angelo,TX
Age: 58
Posts: 1,077
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by S10xGN
Hi all,

Just received my new Northern 7.5 HP, 29 cfm compressor today, this thing is huge! It puts out 175 PSI, but the only reducing regulator/filters I can find are rated to 125 PSI max. What are all the (real) garages using? I'm planning on splitting the output: 100 PSI to my bench via the regulator and full pressure to my hose reel with 3/8" hose.

Thanks!

Russ
That 125 max rating is for the output side. 175 on the input side is not a problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new regulator, now it doesnt shut off 56f100 Electrical 5 05-31-2004 12:44 PM
voltage regulator slowride59 Electrical 2 07-02-2003 06:36 PM
Electrical Short, Possible Voltage Regulator Claude Electrical 2 06-21-2003 01:13 AM
Internal Regulator Question. horvath Electrical 7 05-01-2003 04:33 PM
57 Chevy generator to altenator swap Rodrunner Electrical 2 07-17-2002 09:59 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.