Hot Rod Forum banner

New create 350 overheating

3K views 13 replies 10 participants last post by  AutoGear 
#1 ·
I have a 1934 Master resto rod with a GM create 350 edelbrock intake and carb. shorty headers hei distributor everything else stock. Starts and idles great drives great as well but when you get it out on the highway the temp will start to creep up from 180-215 and up if I don't pull over. It has a new 3600 cfm electric fan and a new Manufacturer's Part Number:1-181DF-AXX Afco rat rod radiator new water pump base timing at 10 degrees.

I've tried 4 different thermostats 160-180 and running without it still over a period of time will start running hot on the highway. I just replaced the water pump again just to try a new one no luck.

The only couple of things I have left is the radiator is either to small or the auto meter electric temp gauge is reading incorrect.

Other information flushed the cooling system several time
fan shroud covers the whole radiator
fuel pressure looks great 5.5
carb doesn't smell to rich or lean
plugs look good
oil looks good
engine idles smooth not missing
starts on first hit

Thank you for any help

See less See more
#2 ·
What color is the flushed coolant? Why so many times? brown in color.

Did you retorque stuff after the breakin haet cycle...

Is there drips or a sweetness smell to indicate the coolant system is not able to keep pressure? Try to pressure test the cooling system with dye if that is suspect.

#3 ·