New to forum, need Air Compressor help - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2005, 05:29 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Age: 61
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
New to forum, need Air Compressor help

Hello guys, I read all the AC posts and did not see any of the questions I have answered. I have an older quincy air compressor from an industrial shop it has a 3ph 5hp motor. I also have a 5hp 1ph baldor L1430T motor that is new. My questions are on the magnetic starter and pressure switch (both for the 3ph) will they work with the 1ph motor? If not can someone offer advice, I am not going to try to wire it myself just want to know what I am talking about before trying to hire an electrician. Thanks

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-10-2005, 11:27 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Duffield ,Va
Age: 67
Posts: 526
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I would think a good juice jockey should be able to wire it up for you , as long as the magnetic starter coil is not like 480 volts .
Single phase will be in the 240 volt and under range.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-11-2005, 05:12 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indiana
Age: 60
Posts: 393
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes the starter will work for single phase. The pressure switch is just that a switch. It should be fine also.

















.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-23-2005, 06:12 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Montvale, NJ
Age: 58
Posts: 222
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
As the other's have said, it'll work fine. Since it's a starter, it has over load protection on it and running 3 phase, the amperage ratings for the heaters is going to be too low. The single phas motor will have or should have it's own thermal protection. If so, you may be able to remove the over load section of the starter and wire directly to the contactor. If not, you'll have to install the correct heaters for the new motor's amperage. BTW, is the new motor compresor rated? It has to be as the are designed to start against a load. This is a dual capacitor motor, start/run. Other wise, when the tank has a partially filled, the motor may not have enough torque to get up to speed in time.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-23-2005, 07:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Age: 61
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Husk the new motor is a Baldor L1430t with a 1.125 shaft it was described as being a 1 phase replacement for the three phase on the compressor.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-24-2005, 11:31 AM
theHIGHLANDER's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: S.E. Mich
Age: 57
Posts: 214
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
!st, those Quincy's are good pumps. The pressure switch, as stated above, is just a switch. 2nd, the motor should have it's own built-in starter. I converted a 3ph 10hp to 1ph 10hp, took the magnetic starter out of the circuit as the 1ph had it's own starter. This is a "farm duty" motor. It has a 60amp service to it and has no issues. I miss where the mag start is needed at all?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-24-2005, 01:02 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Age: 61
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Highlander, I am no electrician but as I understand it the mag starter just helps control power needs during motor starts. I have been told that it will work without the mag starter, but it is more of a safety thing. I have noticed that on most of the new larger compressors have the mag starter. Right now I have about 325.00 in this rig. And you are right these old Quincy's Rock should be all the air I will ever need.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2006, 03:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Age: 61
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quincy update

Just thought I would post an update on the compressor, got it temporary setup in my one car garage. My electrician put a 220 30amp circuit with a range plug and used a range pigtail to the magnetic starter. We plan to expand the garage this spring and will hardwire it then. The Quincy is amazing!, it will go from 0 psi to 175 psi in about 4 minutes, the pressure as set shuts off at 175 and on at 145. I hate to sound like a kid with a new toy but ,"Golly gee Mr. Wilson", I have for years just got by with an old sears "1hp" compressor it would inflate tires and run a 3/8 air ratchet or a spray gun but any thing else is too much for it. To put the Quincy to the test my son got out the pressure pot sandblaster ,I've had it for years and never got to use it, and blasted for three hours only stopping to refill the sand. It worked great never had to wait for the compressor at all. The only downside to the whole issue is that due to medical conditions I only get to watch,not to "play". Thanks to all for the information on air compressors
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2006, 04:22 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indiana
Age: 60
Posts: 393
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I know what you mean. I went from a craftsman 3hp single stage to a Ingersoll Rand 5hp 2 stage. I used to always have to wait for the compressor. Not any more. Now it the bolt wont come out it breaks it off. It one of the best investments I have ever made.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-13-2006, 01:21 PM
Toyman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 108
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I realize this thread is a few days old, but I felt the necessity of adding this information about the magnetic starter. I am not an electrician, but my understanding of the purpose of the magnetic starter really doesn't have to do with starting the motor. It has more to do with stopping. With compressors being setup to turn the motor on when the pressure in the tank gets too low (ie: pressure switch), there is the potential, while your compressor is plugged in and turned on that the motor could be put in the position to run continuously. If a line/hose ruptured, someone drained the tank & forgot to turn off the power, bad pressure switch, etc. the motor would run continuously, and with the higher amp motors- true 5hp - they will run until they get red hot and potentially burn your shop down. Thats where the heaters in the mag starter come in. If it gets too hot, they will fail and the mag starter will go to the off position. The motor running continuously won't trip the breaker because it isn't providing any more power than it should. Anyway, that's my take. Be safe!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-13-2006, 02:56 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,909
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Toy, Good point, The starter or "drop box" is a relay to carry the heavy current so the lighter pressure switch only has to carry the light current needed to operate the starter. An extreme example would be the starter solenoid on a car which carries the starter motor load so the key switch only has to carry enough current to hold the solenoid closed otherwise the key switch would have to be VERY heavy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 01-21-2010, 02:50 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Air Compressor

Hy hi!

may i know which type of air compressor you want. Because i came across a site where u can get used as well as **************, branded air compressor and all types of air compressor parts.



Regards,

Last edited by dinger; 01-21-2010 at 09:45 AM. Reason: Violation of guidelines. Please see: general board guidelines.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Martin Senour Tech Sheets? unstable Body - Exterior 42 03-12-2011 09:09 PM
Turbo vs Supercharger - Write up!! FastChevyTruck Engine 107 02-16-2011 12:18 PM
larger compressor gburgess2002 Garage - Tools 13 07-19-2009 09:36 AM
More on Orange Peel KarKen Body - Exterior 36 03-22-2009 02:18 PM
New Forum: Introduction to Hotrodding Jon Hotrodders' Lounge 5 09-25-2003 09:43 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.