New Gas Mig Welder - I Have A Question - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > General Discussion> Hotrodders' Lounge
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-29-2007, 09:13 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

New Gas Mig Welder - I Have A Question

Hey guys,

I am just opening up my new Lincoln Electric Mig Welder - Weld-Pac 100. I am new to welding and have a quick question. I am using gas and was wondering what wire I will be using mostly on my restos and around the house, is it .025 or .035? I was told that .035 would be used mostly and that .025 is used mainly on sheet metal. Which is correct.

Like I said I am new to this so any and all suggestions you have on getting started would be great.

Thanks,
Jim

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-29-2007, 09:29 AM

Last journal entry: Dash Mock-up
Last photo:

Jim,

I use .025 on Sheet Metal-I like the Lincoln Wire, although there are those here who like the Harris Twenty Gauge-

http://www.harrisproductsgroup.com/
Old 01-29-2007, 09:55 AM

jim,

.35 would work on most all jobs. i assume you are using a one pound spool.

gas in bottle should be 75% argon, 25% ox.

pure argon for stainless wire.

brass tip in gun should be next larger size. this helps with burnback, or you'll just be wasting tips.

not familiar with .25 size as it use only .32,.35. never have patience to change for each job.

spot weld by just holding horizontal to material. 3/8 inch up and hit trigger for split second. may have this shield in kit, but never used it. see above.

take a scrap piece of metal, clean, no rust. mig and rust a no no...hold gun to ear and press trigger slightly. you should hear the gas but not enough to acutally feel it.. (this should bring out the joksters)