New gas sending unit not working? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-05-2013, 09:34 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 611
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
New gas sending unit not working?

Working on a 1930 street rod 350 engine with "Tanks" U2-SS gas tank in the trunk. Previously the car had a floatless sending unit in the gas tank. It worked fine for about 10 months then went bad. The wiring for the floatless sending unit consisted of 2 grounds, 1 wire from the gas gauge, and 1 hot wire from the fuse panel, total of 4 wires. Gas gauge and wire is new.

We have decided to replace this with a universal "old style" sending unit with a float, model number SN-35. This is a brand new sender and there are no directions telling you how to wire it up. The top of the SN-35 unit only has two terminals. I connected the wire from the gas gauge to the center terminal (goes to reostat), and a ground wire to the other terminal on the mounting flange. I have the sending unit out of the tank and with the ignition switch in the on position, I am moving the float up and down but I am not getting any reaction on the gas gauge at all.

Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 05:40 AM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,058
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 133 Times in 124 Posts
Is the ohm resistance of the sending unit a match for the gauge you are using?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 09:01 AM
darrin502's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Gasage problem

wired gas gages work on Ohm principle. You will have to find out the ohm rating of your gage and then match the float assembly with that also with the sending unit out of the tank make sure you have the sending unit grounded to the chassis of the car.
It might be 0-25 or 10-30 etc.
Hope that helps
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 11:35 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 611
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Sending unit and gauge match

Yes the sending unit and gas gauge match. This is a 33-240 ohm matched set.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 12:07 PM
darrin502's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If u can take and wire the gage and the float unit direct to the battery not thru the ignition sw & it works then u have a prob in the car wiring and if it doesnt work then it is in the gage or sending unit. Try going from the gage To ground and the gage should peg that will give a good test for the gage. Ground the wire going to the tank.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 04:34 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 611
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
No voltage at gas gauge

OK I found the problem. I took a volt reading at the gas gauge with the key turned on and did not get any voltage. The wire that feeds the gauge comes from a switched terminal on the fuse panel. I checked the fuse panel and got a reading so I knew then the wire was bad. I fished the wire out of a spegetti network of wireing and discovered a rodent had chewed the wire in two. I installed a new wire from the fuse panel to the gauge and it works great now. Thanks to all who responded.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 04:42 PM
darrin502's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Glad u got it. Electric probs can be a pain.
Lee
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 06:32 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,058
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 133 Times in 124 Posts
Good to hear it was an easy fix
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sending Unit Not Working ???? cashflow55 Electrical 7 10-11-2008 07:56 PM
Gas Tank Sending Unit Steve Heyward Hotrodding Basics 3 10-11-2008 04:46 AM
'2001 Malibu temperature sending unit not working lamothe1 Electrical 16 03-14-2007 10:41 AM
Gas sending unit OHMS? Siggy_Freud Electrical 4 12-13-2004 01:21 PM
Gas Gauge stopped working has power to it maybe sending unit??? 61ChevyTruck Hotrodding Basics 8 11-04-2004 09:02 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.