new master cylinder, bleed still no brake! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2006, 01:18 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

new master cylinder, bleed still no brake!

i posted a question a few weeks ago about my brake system, this is a 72 chevelle with drums all the way around. the master cylinder had fluid coming out the rear of it so i replaced it today. i read both the chiltons and haynes manuals on how to do this. they both have differnt answers of coarse!

one says to remove the clevis pin and disconnet the pushrod at the pedal. i did this although i have never done this before now. and reconnected it before i bleed the system.

one says there is a gasket behind the master c. i dont have a gasket just the rubber boot. ive never had a gasket do i need a gasket?

i did bench bleed the MC before it was installed. after i installed it i did a brake bleeding, but i used the one man bleeder, will this work on the non power brakes? i bleed them and saw bubbles come out so it was bleed until clear. after i did all tires i checked the fluid and topped it off. i never let the fluid get low or dry during the bleeding. but i noticed the pedal never got stiff ever when i was pumping it.
i started the car and the pedal goes to the floor to easily and no brake at all. i noticed that there is a clunk sound when the pedal is pushed to the floor and i hear a air sound coming from the pedal inside the car a hissing when the pedal is pressed. im pretty sure nothing was done inorrectly according to the guides but something isnt right for sure.

should i get someone to pump the pedal for me when bleeding?