New process 203. - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-26-2005, 11:32 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

New process 203.

Slowly but surely im getting this truck done so far ive rebuilt the motor, had the tranny rebuilt, replaced all u-joints and now ive got to take care of this clunk when u put it in gear. My first thought is the Front axle because i noticed when i removed the front Drive shaft that i could rotate the (piece that the driveshaft connects to on the pumpkin, lol) probably 25 degrees each way before it got solid? Now im no mechanic i just play one on weekends but that seems like a lot of play. My second question is being that ive never owned a Fulltime system like this what freaking gear should i be running in for everyday around town use. Hi? N? I would assume its not Hi Loc and definitly not Lo or Lo loc. Also im looking for the indicator switch that sits inside the linkage housing for a np-203. They tend to break when u roll your transfer case over and they hit the ground, and its a discontinued part from GM. and all parts houses i could find pluse Chevy duty and Lmc. Its not really a need to have part but would be nice to have again to indicate Loc or not. I just Start the truck Leave in park and put to Neutral (i think) seems the be Neutral because it is all the way forward at least as far as it will go While in park (if i put the transmission in Neutral it will go forward 2 more slots) and then i just back it off 1 spot which according to shift pattern is HI. If i am doing something wrong feel free to scream and holla and call me a retard, Its ok.. Thanks in advance..

Hiball

Specs of Truck 79 Chevy 1/2 ton, Automatic, 4 X 4, np-203 no part-time conversion.

Advertisement