New Tach please help!!! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-09-2013, 09:05 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 29
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
New Tach please help!!!

Ok so I've got a new tach from AutoMeter. I have a question on how to read it. Imagine that the gauge lays out like this:
,,,,|,,,,1,,,,|,,,,2,,,,|,,,,3,,,,|,,,,4,,,, etc...
RPM x1000

The question I have is how do you read the marks before the "1"?
The answer relates in a way to an issue I'm trying to figure out. I've got it hooked up to a 350 SBC that's all internally stock. I noticed that my truck idles at the "1" mark while cold and drops down to between the sixth and seventh mark once warmed up. Once this occurs, my truck begins to vibrate pretty bad and starts making a sound that as of now, no one i have spoken with can figure out what it is. What is the normal idle rpm for a 350 SBC motor?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-09-2013, 10:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 123
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
every hash mark is a 100 rpm. average idle 650 to 750
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-09-2013, 11:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 29
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ok thank you that's what I needed to know if your answer is right, then my engines is idling at the right rpm level
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-09-2013, 11:59 PM
dub's Avatar
dub dub is offline
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Time to drive..
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 114
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Make sure the tach is set to the right cylinder spec. I had an issue once that the tach was set to a 4 cylinder car...throwing my RPM's off a bit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
V6 car tach vs V8 car tach problems recnepswilliams Hotrodding Basics 8 11-25-2010 09:05 PM
Tach fat40 Electrical 2 01-28-2006 07:11 AM
Tach's - R. P. M. AmericanPackMule Hotrodding Basics 25 01-09-2006 10:11 AM
Tach help. Novaman78 Electrical 2 08-14-2004 01:48 PM
need help with a tach JUS10 Electrical 2 03-13-2003 08:59 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.