New thought electric speedometer? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2011, 07:57 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 46
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 28
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
New thought electric speedometer?

I'm debating whether or not to buy new. I don't know anything about if you can put an electric speedometer in my '62 Ranchero. or how???? Thanks Ken N.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2011, 08:41 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,877
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 89 Times in 82 Posts
Dakota Digital has the slickest VHX guages on the market. They fit just about everything......kinda pricy tho'
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-15-2011, 10:18 AM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: LED tail lights
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 71
Posts: 1,236
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 41 Posts
The electronic speedo will have a matching sending unit that attaches to the transmission where the speedo cable was attached.
This sending unit develops electrical pulses as the output gear from the transmission rotates.
The speedo reads these pulses.
The VDO speedo, for example, can be calibrated while you drive through a measured mile.

vicrod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-15-2011, 12:57 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 46
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 28
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So should this piece that hooks to the tranny come with the speedometer when ordered and is speciffic to only that brand of spedometer? Thanks Ken N.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-15-2011, 01:31 PM
35WINDOW's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Dash Mock-up
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: utah
Age: 58
Posts: 1,365
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 7
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
Thanks to new GPS technology, you don't have to hook a Speedometer to anything! mompanies like Classic Instruments and Speed Hut now offer a GPS Speedometer, and the hook-up is easy-better yet, it's accurate-

http://www.speedhut.com/product_deta...NUMBER-898.htm


http://www.speedhut.com/gauge_produc...ometer_GPS.htm
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-15-2011, 01:51 PM
ogre's Avatar
the 'Duracell Project'
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Motown
Posts: 1,291
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 81 Times in 74 Posts
or you could buy a repop or rebuilt stock for a 1/3 of the price
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-15-2011, 01:55 PM
delawarebill's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: delaware
Posts: 1,135
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 11
Thanked 52 Times in 52 Posts
speedo...

Quote:
Originally Posted by papawfalcon
So should this piece that hooks to the tranny come with the speedometer when ordered and is speciffic to only that brand of spedometer? Thanks Ken N.
i have an autometer elect speedo and for the life of me i can't remember if it came with it or bought it seperate.. but a question u can get an easy answer from manuf.. ck speedway, summitt or others....easy to calib too...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-15-2011, 04:31 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,877
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 89 Times in 82 Posts
Dakota Digital VHX for my 67, came with all the sending units and wiring for all the gauges and the pulse generator for the tranny. The pulse gen works by sending, in my case, 16K electrical pulses for one mile. If you have larger/smaller tires or hi/low gear ratio you can calibrate the speedo thru a series of menus.... if that doesn't work it will self learn by using a measured mile. Super easy plug and play, it is not the LED number type gauge, it's the needle sweep type with digital guts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-18-2011, 01:34 PM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: LED tail lights
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 71
Posts: 1,236
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 41 Posts
I my example, the VDO speedo has a matching sender..
Also it must be ordered to fit the transmission on which it will be used.

vicrod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-18-2011, 02:55 PM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,713
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 12
Thanked 147 Times in 131 Posts
The VDO speedo CAN be a PITA to set, but luckily there are two methods. The first is to drive a set distance then punch the button. The second is to use the pulses per mile and the only way mine would set - which I did via a separate GPS. There is one caution with the VDO gauge - don't try to rush the calibration - it needs to store whatever you input in its tiny 'brain' and it can take more then a couple of seconds.

VDO and AutoMeter are the only two that I've been able to find that make a 3-1/8" as well as a 3-3/8 speedo and matching tach

As far as the sending unit, there are several manufacturers that make a Hall effect sender which is what you need. You do need one that will bolt to the side of your transmission, whatever it is plus use the original Ford tranny driven gear.

Here is a good site with a bunch of FAQ's that will help - it was down earlier today though, but is a source.

Dave W
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 09-18-2011, 03:42 PM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: How to make a custom dashboard
Last journal entry: Interior Tin
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 54
Wiki Edits: 4

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have a Cyberdyne in my pickup. It didn't come with the sender, but I had a newer transmission with a magnetic pickup on the tail shaft. The cyberdyne unit will use almost any brand pickup on either the rear end, drive shaft or transmission. Calibration was easy using a measured mile, and can be adjusted for tire or gear changes. Good thing was I could get it in a 2 1/16" and hide it out of the way. Been using it for about 5 years with no problems. I fab'd the instrument panel with a large tach in the middle and the other gauges around it. Summit carries a large selection of digital speedos.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T-350 trans to electric speedometer? Hero2112 Electrical 13 02-25-2011 12:32 AM
electric speedometer Mrwood Electrical 4 11-13-2010 02:45 PM
Electric Speedometer Senders oldcarguy36 Electrical 10 05-08-2010 02:53 PM
2004 Silverado electric speedometer Deuce General Rodding Tech 8 10-28-2008 07:04 AM
Daytona Speedometer Electric Cable Dee Cercopely General Rodding Tech 2 10-18-2005 03:01 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.