Hot Rod Forum banner

new type of engine design: two crankshafts

4K views 44 replies 14 participants last post by  cobalt327 
#1 ·
I haven't yet investigated this very much, I thought I would post it here to see what others think.

An inventor recently posted his new engine design on the Crankshaft Coalition forums.

I'm sure we have other guys who will know more about this type of design. Essentially, the camshaft and valves have been replaced with a second crankshaft and set of pistons.

There are plenty of diagrams on the site, plus information/history, etc. Here's the link: New4Stroke.com.

I'm not sure about the performance/efficiency/feasibility, or the extent to which this has been designed in the past, but at very least, it's thought-provoking.

#3 ·
New Engine

I am a Mechanical Engineer (retired).
In one part of my life I was a Marine Engineer Officer. The ships I sailed had Burmeister & Wayne 2 stroke Diesels with three pistons per cylnder, one main piston in the centre and two "Valve" pistons above and below.

The new engine this man is describing is a variation on this design, he has moved both the valve pistons to the top of the engine. He himself says this new engine can't be patented, the reason why is because this is not a new concept.

JK.

#5 ·
That's another cool valvetrain change I've seen since that Coate's head concept. One question though, wouldn't that just liimit the number of revolutions on the motor? Seems like that'd be a heck of a lot more vibrations the block would have to deal with produced by adding two more pistons limiting the top end on it. Could just be me though :D

#7 ·
A long time ago I heard about an engine that was a H8 basicly becuase it was basicly 2 4cyl's ( but squished into 1 block ) with 2 crankshafts connected by a gear set, and had 2 distributors, and 2 carbs but I never found any refrence to it, my shop teacher told me about it becuase it was in a tech article he read as a kid.

#9 ·
67 Deuce 4 Me