Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board

Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/)
-   Garage - Tools (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/garage-tools/)
-   -   New to welding. MIG or flux core. (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/new-welding-mig-flux-core-167832.html)

kilgorq 11-03-2009 09:19 PM

New to welding. MIG or flux core.

I am fairly new to welding. I did some stick welding 20+ years ago. I recently got set up with a stick welder and realized after fighting it for a few hours that it just will not work for sheet metal. It works great for 1/8 to 1/4 tubing. I need to Get either a flux core or MIG with the gas. Obviously the gas set up costs a more so My question is what are the advantages to the gas over the flux core. I have been looking at several and due to a tight budget I am looking for inexpensive but not cheap. Can I get good results from the flux core or are the advantages of the gas worth the extra couple hundred dollars. Any recommendations on good priced reliable welders would be welcome also. And what to look for in features. What are the must haves and the not so important.

ericnova72 11-03-2009 09:44 PM

Trying to weld sheetmetal with flux core wire gives the same results as trying to stick weld it... Slag and pinholes in the weld. Only good use for flux core is just like stick: thicker materials and when shielding gas might be blown away by wind.

Get the Gas MIG set-up to weld thin materials like autobody.

oldschoolrods 11-03-2009 09:51 PM

You definitely want the gas. As far as recommending a welder, what's your budget? You definitely want to stick with a brand name here, Miller, Lincoln, Hobart etc.

Miller - Has an auto-set feature for to help people set up their welders but is more costly

Lincoln - Can even be found in home depot, no auto set feature

Hobart - Essentially the same unit as the miller but lower price, and I don't believe it has auto set

Happy shopping

kilgorq 11-03-2009 10:15 PM