new wire harness. installing killswitches now - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2009, 11:34 AM
elcaminodragster's Avatar
70 El Camino aka FRANKENSTEIN
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Age: 26
Posts: 738
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
new wire harness. installing killswitches now

Well I just installed a new AAW wire harness. I used the dash ignition switch instead of the column. I've never used a dash switch before. I am wanting to kill the started from turning and kill power to the dist.

I have an HEI dist. I'm most positive I'm correct on where to install the kill switch for the dist. I'm not sure about the starter tho.

Here are the full schematics. . . The yellow arrows are where I think I would install the kill switches. Am I correct???






    Advertisement

Last edited by elcaminodragster; 02-06-2009 at 11:48 AM. Reason: forgot the pics lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2009, 01:29 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Wow that is huge picure you posted, I have two 19" monitors and it still does not fit.

Yes, that looks like it will do it. You could use either a double pole double throw switch or use a double pole relay and a single pole switch.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2009, 06:38 PM
elcaminodragster's Avatar
70 El Camino aka FRANKENSTEIN
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Age: 26
Posts: 738
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sorry about the size of the pics. I had to use my dads camera I couldn't find mine. I didn't want to change the settings on his camera. . . Hes going blind in his old age lol.

Anyway. . . dubble pole dubble switch dub bubble relay bubble duble. . .


You lost me there lol. Double pole double throw meaning an on off on switch?

Could a normal on off switch work???

I want one switch for the starter and one switch for the dist.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2009, 08:11 PM
elcaminodragster's Avatar
70 El Camino aka FRANKENSTEIN
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Age: 26
Posts: 738
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Okay I've done a bit of research on kill switches. I found I can install a simple on off switch for the coil feed.

As for the starter a simple switch doesn't seem like a good idea

I found you need a relay and the switch to kill the starter. I know the type of relay I need. I'm still unclear as to the type of switch but I'm guessing an on off switch. I don't know how to hook up the relay tho. Which connection goes to what???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2009, 05:07 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Normal on-off switch. I assumed you wanted one switch for both functions.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2009, 06:02 PM
elcaminodragster's Avatar
70 El Camino aka FRANKENSTEIN
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Age: 26
Posts: 738
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 302 Z28
Normal on-off switch. I assumed you wanted one switch for both functions.

Vince

So how do I connect a Bosh relay for the kill switch for the starter???

Or do I just simply put in a on off switch???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2009, 06:07 PM
kleen56's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Santa Clarita CA
Posts: 802
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
This doesn't have anything to do with wiring in a kill switch, but in addition to the switches, I always use a battery cutoff switch. There are several types out there. Avoid the cheap ones with the removal red handle. Anyways, they come in handy because you can flip the switch and all electrical is dead. It saves you from pulling the cables everytime whenever your doing electrical work. Just my two cents.
Ed
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wire harness removal 1badbird89 Electrical 8 12-22-2007 11:57 AM
Disconnecting Original Wire Harness mynovacane Electrical 4 07-18-2007 05:12 AM
Seek opinion of KwikWire 21 cct wire harness jpd37 Electrical 15 08-01-2006 10:42 AM
wire harness for 49 chevy pickup 49dream Electrical 4 08-18-2004 04:53 AM
One wire or three wire? Screwy Lewy Electrical 0 06-30-2003 04:33 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.