newb question about a th400 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2007, 07:01 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver bc
Posts: 57
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
newb question about a th400

I put a motor in my truck a few weeks ago, and I pulled it with the torque converter. I accidentally spilled the fluid that was in the torque converter. I then put the new motor in, and I forgot to pour fluid in the torque converter. Now the tranny on my truck barely works. I am flushing the tranny and putting some lucas no slip in, but is there any way to get fluid in the torque converter? or do I gotta pull the tranny and pour some in? Thanks

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2007, 07:12 PM
DeathRattle's Avatar
Some Punk Kid
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Michigan
Age: 28
Posts: 787
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
What do you mean by barely works?
did you install the converter by itself or still on back of the flexplate?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2007, 07:17 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver bc
Posts: 57
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I installed it on the back of the flex plate. By barely works, I mean that it doesn't shift into gear half the time, and it when it catches, it is at high rpm.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2007, 07:28 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,173
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 409
Thanked 106 Times in 102 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by agent spliff
I installed it on the back of the flex plate. By barely works, I mean that it doesn't shift into gear half the time, and it when it catches, it is at high rpm.
if you installed the engine and trans together while the torque converter was bolted to the flexplate...... the pump in the t-400 may be junk now.

Is the trans full of fluid?

The trans fills the converter when the engine is running. The converter has constant full of fluid inside when the converter turns the pump.
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2007, 07:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver bc
Posts: 57
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I had the tranny in the truck when I put the motor in with the torque converter. I have no idea how to change the pump, but I am gonna put new fluid in it, and some lucas oil and hope it works.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2007, 07:35 PM
DeathRattle's Avatar
Some Punk Kid
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Michigan
Age: 28
Posts: 787
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
when you put the converter on you have to push and turn and push and turn till it sits just right(engaged on pump properly).
If not like crosley said, good chance you trashed the pump.

This may help.
http://www.partshp.com/ConverterInstructions.htm
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2007, 09:48 PM
chevymastermind's Avatar
drive it like you stole it!
 

Last journal entry: engine
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: tacoma, WA
Age: 24
Posts: 185
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
uuuuuuum why would the pump be junk because i just did the same to my car. i think one of you sayed that the oil will go into the converter on my post. what i did was pushed the converter into thetrans then bolted the tranny to the engine block and i had to slide the tourque converter about 1/4 inch out to meet up to the flexplate! and i bolted the converter to the flexplate. then installed the two. but mine was a Th-350 if that makes a diference?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2007, 10:17 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,173
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 409
Thanked 106 Times in 102 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevymastermind
uuuuuuum why would the pump be junk because i just did the same to my car. i think one of you sayed that the oil will go into the converter on my post. what i did was pushed the converter into thetrans then bolted the tranny to the engine block and i had to slide the tourque converter about 1/4 inch out to meet up to the flexplate! and i bolted the converter to the flexplate. then installed the two. but mine was a Th-350 if that makes a diference?

Re-read all of the posts , you will see the fellow did not install the converter as you posted you installed your converter


__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2007, 12:53 PM
Bad Rat's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Bad Rats anglia Build Journal plus bike and other photos
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Oregon Wetlands
Age: 76
Posts: 507
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 60
Thanked 27 Times in 18 Posts
I learned this mistake the hard and expensive way,, My son installed the tranny in the car, and didn't make sure the converter was engaged to the pump, and when bolting up the tranny to the bell housing,, he couldn't figure out why the bolts tightened up before it touched the bell housing,, so he forced them,,, I had to tear it all out and buy a new pump,, it just slides in about 1/4 inch or so, to meet the flex plate, but it definately has to be engaged, or its trash,,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
383 stroker 73monte Engine 11 05-07-2014 09:08 AM
supercharger.... 73monte Engine 16 07-24-2010 11:27 AM
I have a TH400 question carnuck Transmission - Rearend 2 05-31-2006 07:25 AM
TH400 to 4L60e 1939P7 Transmission - Rearend 7 12-22-2005 08:18 PM
nitrous 69BiRd Engine 2 11-28-2003 11:33 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.