Hot Rod Forum banner

newb in training //327..

1K views 20 replies 9 participants last post by  64nailhead 
#1 ·
hi there, im new to the under the hood scene but i'm gaining more knowledge each day. i happened to come across a 327 engine from a 1966 el camino (250 hp im assuming) for 100$ in relatively decent shape for the price and what better way to learn the small block chevy engine than hands on experience disassembling and reassembling the engine making modifications. my goals for this engine are relatively easy, im aiming for a nice performing engine (300-350 hp) for street and daily driving use. i'm wanting to get the most out of this engine durability wise and performance, it will be placed inside of my 1979 Chevrolet Malibu project. what direction would you guys point me, and what advice can you offer me as where to begin on this process. I've been reading a lot of David Vizard's How to rebuild a sbc book and am taking notes from that, what builds would you guys suggest to attain this? pictures of engine attached below inb4 the no engine stand rants. peace and love :pimp:

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
If you want to gain the knowledge, then have at the 327. An easier and more reliable way to get to your goal is to grab post'87 350 roller block and use the OEM roller setup.

Whether building the 327 or grabbing another block, grab a set of Vortec heads for it - it is not recommended to put much many into any of the stock heads from that era other than for nostalgia purposes. I say with this experience, a few years back we put about $600 into set of stock 327 heads - total waste of money IMO. We should've went with the Vortecs (hindsight being 20/20).

What's your budget?

Best of luck and welcome to the board!

#3 ·