Newbie desperately needs buying help! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > General Discussion> Hotrodders' Lounge
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-14-2005, 10:03 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Newbie desperately needs buying help!

Hi, i just did my first post in the introduce yourself forum, so sorry for a repeat in a sense. I'm 21, and really looking into buying myself my first old vehicle to work on. I've stumbled across a 1963 Chevy c10 short box step side, with the 283 V8. I'm by no means a mechanic, but do have somewhat of an understanding of most automotive things. So basically, my questions to y'all are basically what i should be looking for! This far, i've only done a very brief visual on the truck, because the owner is out of town. I did manage to call him though, and the bad part is that he knows absolutely nothing about vehicles...he says all he does is throw in gas and oil, lol. So are there any things to look out for on these trucks? From what i've seen so far, the body looks decent: no apparent rust, a few dents, etc. Peering through the window i can see that the owner previous to the current had redone the interior with some woodgrain on the dash, as well as some newer latemodel buckets. There is what looks to be a B&M shifter coming up through the floor, so i've got no idea whats going to be there transmission wise. Essentially, this truck was modified at one time by an owner, and then sold to another guy whos used it as his dd. Says it runs fine, but blows a little blue smoke on startup. I'll hopefully be bringing a mechanic buddy of mine on tuesday to take it for a drive, so i'll know much more by then. But, any help you guys can give in the mean time would be really helpfull. I do have some pics, but it says they are too big to upload, and i do