Newbie - First paint experience - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2010, 03:14 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Newbie - First paint experience

Hello all, just another newbie here and hoping to find some help. Last summer I supposedly redid (redecked and repainted) a car hauler trailer that I have. I wire wheeled the frame and fenders, in some spots down to bare metal. Most of the fenders were down to bare metal. Other spots I just repainted over the old paint. When I first did this, the trailer looked great. Then winter came. The trailer sat out in the cold, usually covered in a few inches of snow. When I came out to use it again this spring, most of my edges, have surface rust already showing through. I used a product that I got form a local auto paint store, and was told by the salesman that I just had to sand down the existing rust and spray my new paint. It was an enamel paint that they said they used on frames all the time. Pre mixed so I couldn't screw it up, and ready to shoot.

What has happened here? Should I have primed first, or undercoated? Am I even using the right words here?

Obviously I am going to have to repaint again this year, but it does not need to be a show finish, but I would like it to look decent. What can you guys suggest for me? Also , not looking to spend a large amount of money on the redo, but my time really isn't an issue. But there is a good possiblity that there will be some waiting between prep and paint stages. Thanks to all and I will post pics up here soon of the first result and what we have now. Thanks

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-29-2010, 06:52 PM

Last photo: