Newbie, where to start? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-30-2003, 04:18 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Newbie, where to start?

I am new at the whole car thing and want to learn more. I had a 92 ford taurus (3.8L V6, excellent body cond.) that i just couldnt sell, so I was thinking of learning on it. Taking apart and replacing hoses plugs and things of that nature and get it running really well. I was hoping to then "enhance" it and read about things like changing the camshaft, cold air intake, better exhaust etc... But i have lots of questions, my main question is is it worth it/how much will it take (money, knowledge, place to work etc...) Does this sound crazy or not worthwhile? Please write back with advise and suggestions. Thanks !

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-30-2003, 08:09 PM
Superior Wheels Quality Tech

Last photo:

Oh dear.. Please tell me your joking... A 92 Ford Taurus!?!?!?!?! Sure build it up into a granny lookin sleeper and hot rod around town with the whiny exhaust. Or sell the car buy an older chevy then really have some fun!!!! A Taurus? OMG what are u thinking? This is a hot rod site.. Not a granny's tech tips for the mentally insane!
Old 09-30-2003, 08:16 PM

Lol, i know i know, i figured though, i cant really sell the car, if it could be done to make use of it. You can make any car look good if you know what to do to it, but sometimes its not worth it. From your feedback, im taking im better off trying for that chevy...
Old 10-01-2003, 03:22 PM

Last journal entry: 2 years later
Last photo: