no cutting 4 me - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2007, 09:02 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

no cutting 4 me

I have a 1930 model a Tudor Sedan. i want to make a rat rod! i want to lower the rear without cutting up the frame!is it posible? i want to use as mutch of the old car as posible!like the wishbones and stuff but im thinking of useing a coil over shock .all the pictures i see are of modified frames has anyone used the old setup? how did they do it in the 50s and 60s? im kinda new at this !

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-30-2007, 11:10 PM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last wiki edit: How to rebuild a Rochester Quadrajet 4MV carbureto...
Last journal entry: How to change auto shift timing on 200R4
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 21

Well . . . . the real way to do it old timey you don't want to know! Either heat the spring at the shackle end 'til it sags and bends to a 90deg angle. That'll give you an authentic 50s 2 - 3" drop. The second 'official' way is to take the springs off and weld the axle tube to the frame. That's the way Don Garlits did his first Swamp Rat dragster chassis. I think I would defer to modern tech on this point and C the frame!
Old 05-30-2007, 11:28 PM
Newskool

Last journal entry: New, Used grill arrived!
Last photo:

Quote:
Originally Posted by 63novass2468