No oil pressure - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2004, 08:07 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas
Age: 49
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation No oil pressure

I need some serious help and soon. I am going to Las Vegas in two weeks to play in the National Eight Ball Championships and my truck has no oil pressure at all.

I have an 89 GMC 2.5 L S15 with a 4 cyl TBI. I recently rebuilt it completely. Everything is new except the piston rods and the block itself!!!

I had the block bored .40 over and the same machine shop installed the cam bearings. I installed a new cam, a new crank .10 over with there correct size bearings. All clearances are according to specs. New main bearings and rod bearings were also installed as well as a new oil pump.

My problem is that I am showing no oil pressure at all. I removed the oil filter and turned it over and it nearly emptied my oil pan in a short time. I replaced the oil sending unit and it still didn't work. So I installed a dash mounted oil gague and still no oil pressure.

I not only do not have oil pressure, but I am getting no oil up to my rocker arms. It is not pumping through my hydraulick lifters. Could I have received a batch of bad lifters? Or could there be something else causing the problem? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2004, 08:12 PM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 16,928
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 22
Thanked 284 Times in 225 Posts
Wonder if the oil pump pickup fell off?
__________________
Ontario Rodders

Budget RVs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2004, 09:33 PM
DoubleVision's Avatar
Not Considered a Senior Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Heart Of Dixie
Age: 40
Posts: 10,658
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 15
Thanked 60 Times in 57 Posts
If it pumped oil when you removed the filter, then the oil pump is obviously working, but doesn`t pump any oil to the top end of the engine with the filter in place, then it sounds like you have a major internal oil leak, I would check to see if any of the oil gallery plugs came out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2004, 11:33 PM
4 Jaw Chuck's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 4,995
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 91 Times in 74 Posts
Yank it now while you still have time, get it to your machinist, sounds like a plug fell out or was not installed or perhaps a cam bearing was installed incorrectly. DOH!

Good luck, let us know how it works out.
__________________
Outlawed tunes from outlawed pipes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-27-2004, 08:36 AM
11echo's Avatar
Old Guys Rule!...EVERYTHING!
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Age: 64
Posts: 467
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Another guess ...On SBC blocks there is a set of oil galley plugs in back of the timing chain gear around the the cam. I'm NOT familiar with your 2.5L, but I'd guess it has something similar. If these are left out, you'd get no oil pressure (been there!) ...worth a check. Good Luck! ...Mark
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-27-2004, 09:21 AM
King of my Man-cave.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Michigan
Age: 55
Posts: 2,899
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
What kind of oil filter are you using? Replace it with a good one (Wix, Baldwin, etc.). DO NOT use a Fram oil filter. I've seen multiple "no oil pressure" problems with the oil filters being the culprit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2004, 08:42 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas
Age: 49
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Oil pressure problem fixed THANKS!!!!

I APPRECIATE ALL YOUR HELP! I called the machine shop that bored and cleaned my block and they told me that they took out the oil gallery plugs. I removed the timing cover and cam gear and there was no oil gallery plug. I installed one and now I have 40 psi at idle.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2004, 09:28 PM
Jmark's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: phoenix
Age: 61
Posts: 4,844
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Seems to me that the machine shop should have re-installed them before giving you the block back. If I had that problem, i'd be mad as heck at them!

But glad its better and no damage ( hopefully ) was incured.

Mark
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2004, 09:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cassville,MO
Posts: 835
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 22
Thanked 48 Times in 44 Posts
This is why you should always spin the oil pump with a pre oiler shaft or dummy distributor befor installing the distributor, or at least disconnect the power to the distribution and crank the engine over until you've got oil pressure beforestarting. If you don't have oil pressure don't start it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-30-2004, 09:51 AM
King of my Man-cave.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Michigan
Age: 55
Posts: 2,899
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
They should at least buy you a good lunch for doing that to you!!

tom
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-30-2004, 10:02 AM
camaroman7d's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Vacaville, California
Age: 47
Posts: 2,245
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
WOW Tom, I am surprised to hear you say that. If they built the engine for you, then yes they made a big mistake. If you built the engine yourself, that is on you as this is part of building an engine. I am sure they "assumed" you were going to install them.
The good news is you figured out what is going on.


Royce
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 04-30-2004, 10:28 AM
willys36@aol.com's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: How to rebuild a Rochester Quadrajet 4MV carbureto...
Last journal entry: How to change auto shift timing on 200R4
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 8,388
Wiki Edits: 21

Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
A related tip; on engines like the GM V6 that came in 80s Malibus, Skylarks, etc., with external oil pumps, THESE WILL NOT SELF PRIME!!!! I've never worked on one but the 426 Hemi has the same pump so probably needs this too. I spun all the bearings and ruined a crank on a V6 rebuild because I was not aware of this characteristic and didn't read the manual. The pump MUST prepacked with Vaseline when installed to start the prime.

I won't talk about the looks my son-in-law and I got when we went into the local pharmacy and bought two big jars of Vaseline!

Last edited by willys36@aol.com; 04-30-2004 at 11:07 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 04-30-2004, 10:35 AM
BstMech's Avatar
NYOFP4RJ3CHRIS
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TN. In the corporate states of America
Age: 41
Posts: 1,552
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally posted by machine shop tom
They should at least buy you a good lunch for doing that to you!!

tom
He's right, no matter how redundant, my machinist will always remind me of "little things" like that to ensure there'll be no problems for me. I believe it's just a matter of the machinist giving a crap or not.

I'm glad you didn't have too hard a time finding the problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.