No Power - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-01-2008, 07:47 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

No Power

I have a 48 Chevy that I have Street Roded or at least I am trying to. I am very new to rodding I put a 350 that was bored 30 over new flat top pistons and a performance cam I am not sure of the cam size but I think it was 4.65 x 4.65 if that sounds right. it has roller rockers, an Edelbrock performer manifold a Holly street advenger 670 a HEI distributor with vacum advance. My problem is that it has no top end if I nail it it seems to flatten out at around 2700 RPM Any sugestions?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-01-2008, 08:44 PM
Revolution Calling

Last journal entry: Poverty caps live on.
Last photo:

First, welcome to Hotrodders.

When you say 'flattens out' do you mean that it stops revving?
Does it do so with popping and carrying on?
Does it do so on a free rev?
Are you getting full throttle?
Is it running on all 8?
Any black smoke?
Who assembled that engine?

Once you have RULED OUT carb and timing and it is still a slug, check the cam chain/sprocket installation.

Give us all the info you can.
Old 09-02-2008, 08:43 PM

Last photo:

no power

Hey I just went through this same thing with my hot rod, It also is a 350 bored 30. I agree with what was said previously.
1).Go through your firing order and Triple check timing. If your in doubt reset #1 to TDC and start over.