Hot Rod Forum banner

No Spark!!!!!!

2K views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  farna 
#1 ·
I have a '60 Rambler Ambassador Super with a 327 2 barrel in it.
I can't get any spark. :confused:
I have replaced the coil, points, condensor, distributor cap, the rotor is fine, tried a good balast resistor.
I can't get any spark at all. I thought it could be the wire off of the coil so I put it on a truck and the truck fired right up.
I tried to clean the contacts on the ballast and any other connections I could think of but no luck. :sweat:
I came here to seek advice. :embarrass
I do not have a shop manual for it yet and wanted to get it up on my own, but I have to get some help. Thank you.
Mr AMC :thumbup:

#3 ·
I checked voltage to the pos of the coil and have it. (dummy light)
I checked on the ballast as well.
I went from battery ground to component nad with the key on, I have the voltage across the coil.
I adjusted the points.I,m just not sure if it is the start button or not.
I just started and want to get it tunning first.
I spray ether into the carb to try to get just something. but nothing.

#4 ·
I Have Spark

I adjusted my points and checked the distributor wire and I have spark now.
I am just learning this stuff and have a big start. now to fix the gas filler tube and then jump the battery and try to get her started.
Thanks for the help guys.

#5 ·
Glad to see you are making headway....Just a hint though....Don't start a new thread for each post.......I merged them together......

If you have a different problem, start a new thread for that...thanks

#8 ·
It's running now

After I replaced the coil, points, condenser, distributor cap, battery cables (pos and neg), and spark plug wires. It still wouldnt run.
I checked spark off of the coil and had it there. but not on any plug wires. The rotor was good.