not just an ammeter question. more of a 72 camaro Q - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-28-2005, 09:54 PM
bullheimer's Avatar
NEVER use credit cards!
 

Last journal entry: car with tt2's, (stockers going back on)
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North of Seattle
Posts: 2,529
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
not just an ammeter question. more of a 72 camaro Q

i know all the current has to go thru the ammeter. on my truck i wired the whole thing i just ran straight to the ammeter from the battery then to my fuse box.

now i am installing (or trying to) a U-14 instrument cluster into my stupid camaro <---

where is the best place to connect my wires for my ammeter on a second gen camaro? do i have to run to the battery? and how the hell am i gonna get it in series with the rest of everything? is there somewhere on the fusebox i can connect to w/o going into the engine compartment? help me mr. wizzard!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-29-2005, 11:42 AM
bullheimer's Avatar
NEVER use credit cards!
 

Last journal entry: car with tt2's, (stockers going back on)
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North of Seattle
Posts: 2,529
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
from camaro site:

posted that all current has to go thru the ammeter and got this back:

Camarofanatic73 is correct. Do not attempt to pull amperage across that meter or you WILL fry it. They are not really ammeters at all. They are differential voltage meters. They read the voltage on the main harness and the voltage on the alternator output and it gives an estimation of how much amperage is being applied based on the voltage drop or gain across those points.

what the hell does he mean "it's not really and ammeter?"
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2005, 09:46 AM
malc's Avatar
Living At The Speed Of Life
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Espaņa Right Coast
Age: 63
Posts: 3,242
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 86
Thanked 71 Times in 68 Posts
Install a voltmeter http://www.madelectrical.com/electri...p-gauges.shtml
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-31-2005, 02:50 PM
bullheimer's Avatar
NEVER use credit cards!
 

Last journal entry: car with tt2's, (stockers going back on)
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North of Seattle
Posts: 2,529
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
does this look like it might be right:
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2005, 05:42 PM
bullheimer's Avatar
NEVER use credit cards!
 

Last journal entry: car with tt2's, (stockers going back on)
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North of Seattle
Posts: 2,529
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
the above doesnt equate to my camaro. i have a black #10 to my horn relay and a red #10 to it. the black goes i think to the starter and the red to the alternator. i put my guage in series with each wire and it didnt move. also my gas gauge doesnt move and my tach (that got rebuilt) doesnt move. i think i have a problem with the ground on the back of the inst. cluster, although i know i hooked it up, and my CLOCK frikken works!!! all my lights work too, so how could it be the ground anyway? bad idea. i have another smaller like 12ga wire on my horn relay, if i disconnect it the car wont get ing. power so no start/no lights. i put the guage in series with that and no moviee.

any ideas?..................................
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
72 dodge dart transmission question A/G WILLYS Transmission - Rearend 4 05-08-2005 01:04 PM
help with vacuum line to heater in '72 camaro bullheimer Interior 7 01-10-2005 06:00 PM
Camaro 10-bolt 8.2 upgrade - gear question EricTopless68 Camaro Transmission - Rearend 0 02-23-2004 09:10 PM
72 nova bucket seats question ?? fnoblitt Interior 5 01-16-2003 05:55 PM
1 piece fiberglass frontend for '72 Camaro JJFlashesq Body - Exterior 3 02-03-2002 01:45 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.