novice buffer - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-05-2013, 11:38 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

novice buffer

I just recently got done painting my 62 vw ragtop with the help of widetrack 69 and a couple of others. I have moved onto colorsanding and buffing. I would like to pass on some of the mistakes I made as a total beginner. First thing was using way to much compound. I am using meguiars 85 with a wool pad followed up by meguiars 83 with a foam pad. I would still have sanding scratches after I was done. Widetrack 69 told me to turn my speed up and that helped. I also found that I was using to much compound. I found that it is important to keep the bonnet dry. It seems that the minute that there was any leftover compound on the pad the performance deteriorated. I found that using a paper towel to apply the compound made it easier to apply a uniform thin coat. I did the same thing with the foam pad and the 83. I finally have no sanding scratches. I also bought a spur for cleaning a fluffin the wool pad. If any of you guys that do this full time have anything to add please do. I know some of this is very basic but I really frustrated myself.........Steve

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-06-2013, 12:21 AM
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser

Last photo:

Thanked 1,062 Times in 947 Posts