Novice in T-400 mess... - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-16-2011, 11:34 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Novice in T-400 mess...

I'll begin at the beginning, fitted a B&M Converter two years ago and had the TH400 freshened up at the same time, two years down the line Converter starts making noises and I get get Torque judder so I take my Chevy C10 off the road...Coverters gone bad! took the trans pan off and found a lot more gray silt than usuall in the bottom and a few other bits to boot.

No money for the same shop to go through the tranny again so I decide to dismantle & flush it out myself taking pics all the way...Now! I have never done this before and it's scary in there but i'm determed to fix this myself, I found damage to the Brown clutches and it's a givnen I need to replace them, but do not know what to ask for...quantity, name, size etc, and do I need to replace the steel ones as well?

The tangs on some of the steel plate's are different shapes and differently spaced aronund the edge...so do they need to go back in a specific orientation in the housing? the notches in the housing are all the same shape and spaceing.

And now I'm having trouble removing this piece, snap ring is out but it's won't slide out like the rest.

Thanks in advance.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-16-2011, 11:57 AM