Now What? I need help guys! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-30-2006, 09:23 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Now What? I need help guys!

I have a master below the floorboard on my 40 ford 327 with disc front and drum rears. I had adequate braking before my car sat for about 5 weeks while getting upholstered. When I got the car back I noticed I had hardly any brakes. I was told that since I did not install a 2lb residual to the front brakes the fluid drained back to the master. I installed the 2 lb around 6-8 inches from the master and bled the brakes---all four of them, several times. I still have no brake pedal and now when I step on the brake hard to stop, the pedal sticks to the floor and I have to literally lift it with my foot. What could have gone wrong? I ensured the master never lacked brake fluid during the bleeding, I don't have any leaks in any of the brake lines. The only thing I did different was add the 2lb residual and close off one of the ports from the combination valve. Before, I used both ports on the valve to run a line to the left and right front wheel. This time, I come off the combo valve with one line into a brake tee and tee off to each front wheel. Therefore, I plugged off one of the front wheel ports on the combo valve. The remote filled master has a 15/16 in. bore. What can I try next?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-30-2006, 09:44 PM

Last photo:

I havent done this yet but it sounds to me the plumbing is right! I think those valves or directional, might check that , if there wildwood there may be a issue, alot of bad reports. Maybe the master needs attention. Good luck.
Old 09-30-2006, 09:53 PM