OAPs - opinions? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-23-2009, 02:58 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

OAPs - opinions?

Hello-

My name is Todd, and I'm an automotive student at the College of Southern Nevada. There was a discussion in my auto electrical class a couple days ago that I'd like to get your input on.

We were discussing OAPs, (over-revving alternator pulleys) which I think are equipped on some late model GM vehicles.

My teacher seemed to think these pulleys aren't a very good idea (and I tend to agree), especially if they're put onto vehicles like Corvettes, that can hit 5500 RPM with the stomp of a throttle. It would seem that an OAP might be slightly stressed out by a lead footed driver, maybe even have some kind of catastrophic failure.

So my questions - is there such a thing as an aftermarket OAP for hotrodders? If so, has anyone here used one, and if so, for what vehicle? Do you (or would you) have any concerns about failure of a component like this at high revs?

Your feedback on this subject would be appreciated - my teacher would be interested in getting some more info on the subject as well.

Thanks in advance...

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-23-2009, 10:23 AM
Glad To Be Here

Last photo:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teknikalei
We were discussing OAPs, (over-revving alternator pulleys) which I think are equipped on some late model GM vehicles.