Odd question, can you tap on a panel and tell if there is filler on it? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2011, 10:09 PM
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanked 1,327 Times in 1,151 Posts
Odd question, can you tap on a panel and tell if there is filler on it?

I was watching one of the auction/picker/pawnshop "reality" shows last night and they had a 51 Ford F-1 on it. The "expert" came by to check it out and offer his opinion on it's value. He was looking at the truck and tapped with his finger tip here and there and said there was body filler there. Now, I am sorry, either this is pure bs or I simply don't have an ear or feel for something I have been doing for 35 years. There is no way I am going to tap on a fender and know if there is filler there, not unless it is REAL thick. The tone of the metal is going to be totally different just moving it a little closer to an edge, or body line. He tapped on the fender, then tapped up on the side of the cab by the rear window. I am sorry, I just can't imagine being able to do this.

Can any of you pull this off? Like I said, if it's thick, a quarter inch or something, yeah I guess so (though I never had tried it, why?) but any thinner than that, the tone would be different all over it just from out tight the metal is in that particular spot.

Am I clueless, or right?

Brian

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-07-2011, 10:11 PM

Last photo:

why didnt the guy have a magnet with him. I would trust that any day over trying to hear if it has filler on it lol
Old 11-07-2011, 10:16 PM
'23 T-Bucket Pickup

Last wiki edit: Troubleshooting ignition Last photo: