Oil gauge question? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2003, 09:33 PM
Jag Daddy's Avatar
British Style with USA Muscle
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Valencia, California
Age: 57
Posts: 1,078
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Oil gauge question?

Last night I tore the dash out of the Jag for some major cleanup. I popped all the gouges and opened them up to clean the glass, the oil gauge had a milky white powder on the glass so that was one I really wanted to clean, after using minimal force to try and open the gauge I broke out the .99 cent strap wrench. unfortunately the bezel and glass had become welded together so I destroyed the gauge. Fortunately I had another one in the garage, after looking it over it looked basically the same except it had a different number on the back and one of the hookups were a different connector. After modifying the gauge connections I installed it but here is my problem. Now when I put the key in and turn it to the run position the gauge pegs out until the car is running, then it comes down to about where it used to run. Could I have hooked it up backwards? Or? Seems if I lost pressure now it would read 80+ instead of 0. HELP!!!!!

Regards
Mark

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2003, 09:43 PM
Dreadlord's Avatar
Proficient Motorsports - Owner
 

Last journal entry: The Trucks Redemption
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: missouri
Age: 26
Posts: 160
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dont quote me but i think its normal. when i start my camaro the needle jumps to one side then back to normal.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-19-2011, 05:37 PM
chevypower1's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: columbus, ohio
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
gauge problem

you are correct. I had a chevy that did that and I worked just fine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.