Oil Pressure Guage = Fuel Pressure Guage - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-22-2007, 01:01 PM
topdogger's Avatar
Newskool
 

Last journal entry: New, Used grill arrived!
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Regina, Sask(CAN)
Age: 24
Posts: 246
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Oil Pressure Guage = Fuel Pressure Guage?

Some may remember my post a few days ago about using an oil temp guage for tranny temp. I have another question though. The guages I use are limitted in variety but almost all are electronic. Could I use an electronic oil pressure guage for fuel? The style of guages I'm using doesn't currently include a fuel pressure guage but I would like to install one. Is there a standard for the electrical components of guages? Another thing I was thinking of doing is buying just the electronic sending unit for fuel pressure and attaching it to the guages available that will match.

Will this work?

Here's a picture of what my current oil pressure sender looks like. It's very similar.

    Advertisement

Last edited by topdogger; 06-22-2007 at 07:32 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-22-2007, 05:18 PM
1ownerT's Avatar
Home School Valedictorian
 
Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Iowa
Age: 53
Posts: 1,645
Wiki Edits: 4

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
What is the range of the oil pressure gauge you have?
Don't most electric oil pressure gauges start reading at a higher point than a carbed system will operate at? assuming a carborated engine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-22-2007, 07:31 PM
topdogger's Avatar
Newskool
 

Last journal entry: New, Used grill arrived!
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Regina, Sask(CAN)
Age: 24
Posts: 246
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My oil pressure guage actually starts right at zero. Thats why I was thinking it might work. There would be a lot of headroom but I figure it would show up fairly accurately. The guage goes from 0-100 PSI and sweeps past just under 3/4 of the circle.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-24-2007, 12:26 PM
bentwings's Avatar
bentwings
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: St.Paul, Minn
Age: 72
Posts: 1,796
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
A gage is a gage so it won't matter. It will be just the face numbers and lable that will be different. Be carefull about running gas into the driver compartment. Like don't do it!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-24-2007, 12:48 PM
techinspector1's Avatar
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hemet, California, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 12,996
Wiki Edits: 326

Thanks: 768
Thanked 1,027 Times in 859 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bentwings
A gage is a gage so it won't matter. It will be just the face numbers and lable that will be different. Be carefull about running gas into the driver compartment. Like don't do it!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-24-2007, 04:54 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Doc here,

Couple of things you MAY not have considered...

First the Media is different, Oil is MUCH thicker than Fuel (and much hotter)....Chances are If it registers at all, It will be grossly in error...

The Sender Resistance MUST be matched to the Resistance of the Gauge in order for it to operate. You Can't just mix and match any gauges.

Fuel MOST Likely will attack any non metallic parts over time, and the sender MAY end up spraying fuel on each stroke of the pump when it does start to leak, leading to a fire..

Just some Food For thought..

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-24-2007, 07:15 PM
topdogger's Avatar
Newskool
 

Last journal entry: New, Used grill arrived!
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Regina, Sask(CAN)
Age: 24
Posts: 246
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So in other words I would be much better off without a fuel pressure guage. This isn't a high performance application. I simply need another guage to fill the spot and I figured it would have been nice to have a fuel pressure reading.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-24-2007, 08:55 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by topdogger
So in other words I would be much better off without a fuel pressure guage. This isn't a high performance application. I simply need another guage to fill the spot and I figured it would have been nice to have a fuel pressure reading.

Doc here,

Well, If you can get a Fuel approved sender..and don't put a whole lot of stock in the readings..I guess it will be OK..But I wouldn't do it personally..

You can get a pressure gauge / regulator at the Auto parts store Cheap enough..mounts on the inlet line Or get some AN plumbing for it to go to the mounting area..But again, a dash gauge for fuel pressure isn't that important to me..Either it is or it isn't..

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
carburetor leaking; fuel tank needs cleaning islandman General Rodding Tech 7 03-17-2007 06:03 PM
Crankcase pressure effect on oil pressure? cboy Engine 8 06-12-2005 08:04 AM
Oil pressure loss SB Chevy Finmike Engine 30 06-12-2004 10:27 AM
No Oil Pressure with normal operating tempature jrm123180 Engine 3 03-03-2004 02:56 PM
Fuel Pressure Variance slomotion Engine 2 04-02-2002 01:25 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.