Oil Pump - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-18-2012, 12:54 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Oil Pump

I'm currently rebuilding a 400 small block Chevy. It currently has a high- volume oil pump. Is there a chance a high volume pump will suck the all the oil out of the pan at high rpm? Is it safer to run a standard volume pump? I am running a 6qt. Milodon oil pan.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	008.JPG
Views:	136
Size:	800.2 KB
ID:	68444  

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-18-2012, 01:26 AM

Last photo:

With a 6 qt pan that's a close call. But I'm not experienced enough to accurately answer.how many rpm is expected?

Last edited by birkey; 10-18-2012 at 01:32 AM.
Old 10-18-2012, 02:05 AM
Not Considered a Senior Member

Last photo: