Oil sender - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2011, 05:47 PM
Footstomper
 

Last journal entry: 40 ford/cadillac coupe
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Alabama
Posts: 271
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Oil sender

I took the gauges with cluster, everything working. When I pulled the panel cluster out of the dash. I had been using successfully up to now. I was using a flathead oil sender. I decided to loosen the oil sender to make sure if it is pumping, it was working. But not the sender, it did not work. I have a 500 cadillac.

What sender should I use with 12V cluster (forty ford). I think I bought a 500 sender if I can find it.

Just anything that is reliable?

Thanks.
Footstomper

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-24-2011, 03:22 PM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: 2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 72
Posts: 1,355
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 61 Times in 57 Posts
You need to stay with the year and brand of the dash gauges because the sender and gauge are matched.
I assume that the gauge is electrical and not mechanical.
I assume the gauges have a voltage reducer (12v to 6v) installed or are from a 12 volt donor car.

vicrod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-24-2011, 04:01 PM
Footstomper
 

Last journal entry: 40 ford/cadillac coupe
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Alabama
Posts: 271
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
12V with 40 ford gauge and sender

I have been tidy the harness. I pulled the dash to get to the wires. Yesterday, it was working fine, all the gauges. I only turned the dash and it quit working. I have a tractor temperture gauge works, Alternator, I think the fuel may work, it is low. Now oil, I loosened the sender and turn it on and it has oil pressure. Why do those gauges just no more. I think I might just put the dash back in and see if it comes up after a while. I checked all the fuses.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
oil pressure sender jjpodlas Engine 2 10-12-2007 05:38 PM
GM speedo sender longt Electrical 5 05-23-2005 02:41 PM
oil pressure sender DDGETHS Engine 4 01-24-2005 09:58 PM
Oil Pressure Sender Silver_Camaro Engine 7 08-12-2004 11:35 PM
Fuel Sender Help 84layinframe Engine 2 05-25-2004 07:52 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.