omni using less reducer - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-10-2009, 08:17 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

omni using less reducer

hello I'm new to the sight, but have learned allot in a short period of time. At a local jobber I was told a body shop worker told them they use a 1:1/2 mix instead of 1:1 mix for the omni base, because its so thin and get good results. I'm wondering what's anyones thoughts on this, is it good, bad and why. thanks for any help.

Advertisement

Last edited by Spaniard; 04-10-2009 at 08:24 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-10-2009, 08:37 PM

Last photo:

yeah, omni you can spray with less reducer but you might have more of a texture, the reducer helps everything flow togeather, but at the same time it makes it more easy to run, but i would highly sugest useing the optional hardener with omni, this is assuming that you are useing single stage paint, if its BC/CC then its diffrent, you should use the correct amount of reducer, but just use the correct temp reducer to help it flash off correctly
Old 04-10-2009, 10:09 PM

It is the MBC omni(bc/cc), I'm using medium reducer and will be painting it in a week or two. Around here its still somewhat cold average temp is 55 to 60. I will be reducing with the recommended 1:1 mixing ratio. This is my first paint job and just want the car to look good before I sell it, so I can use the money to start redoing my camaro that has been sitting 10yrs in storage.
Old 04-11-2009, 05:11 AM

Last photo: