One wire alternator to starter post? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2008, 01:48 PM
Ripped's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: First RoadCourse Video
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 360
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
One wire alternator to starter post?

Getting to work on dropping the engine in next week (I think)
I decided to run a powermaster 140 amp 1 wire alternator. The battery is in the trunk. I ran a secondary number 4 to the interior fuse panel, but it only has a 60 amp fuse. It runs the subwoofer amp, all the main car electrical systems, lighting radio, etc.

The wire I have running from the battery (in the trunk) to the starter is unfused #1 Ga. I was thinking of running the amp wire to the battery post on the starter.

Does anyone know of any potential problems in doing this?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2008, 01:52 PM
malc's Avatar
Living At The Speed Of Life
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: España Right Coast
Age: 63
Posts: 3,238
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 85
Thanked 67 Times in 64 Posts
Have you got a remote starter solenoid in the trunk ?
If not you have a potential disaster as the starter cable will be live.
Check this out from MadElectrical and check it against what you have.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2008, 01:57 PM
malc's Avatar
Living At The Speed Of Life
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: España Right Coast
Age: 63
Posts: 3,238
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 85
Thanked 67 Times in 64 Posts
Like this, my rear mounted battery and solenoid.


Not quite finished at this stage.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2008, 04:16 PM
FEDDO's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: middle ga
Posts: 369
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
that looks good. nice workmanship. Where is your battery shut off?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-31-2008, 08:33 AM
Ripped's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: First RoadCourse Video
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 360
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Nice set up, I like the soleniod box.

I ran my old roadrunner battery in the trunk conversion without any soleniod.

I don't see any problem, if you run the wire correctly. Worst case scenario, you can get large fuses from marine suppliers ie 300 amp +

I think the newer chrysler 300 have the battery in the trunk. What do they use?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-31-2008, 12:15 PM
malc's Avatar
Living At The Speed Of Life
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: España Right Coast
Age: 63
Posts: 3,238
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 85
Thanked 67 Times in 64 Posts
"It makes good sense to put the START’M UP solenoid next to the battery (in the rear)–to avoid routing a “full-time battery live” cable all the way forward to the starter. (If a “live” starter cable ever became shorted, a fire or battery explosion would be likely.)"



I would´nt tempt fate.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-31-2008, 05:33 PM
406 bug's Avatar
9.82 @ 139mph
 
Last wiki edit: Finding vacuum leaks Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: phoenix, arizona
Posts: 580
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
some will not agree, but the alt. line should go to the bat. (bat. should provide prower the elec. system ; not the alt. Just my opinion.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-31-2008, 11:18 PM
malc's Avatar
Living At The Speed Of Life
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: España Right Coast
Age: 63
Posts: 3,238
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 85
Thanked 67 Times in 64 Posts
Just my opinion.
Based on what facts ?



The alternator powers the electrical components, the battery starts the car and acts as a cushion when more items are used until the alternator catches up.

Read through this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-01-2008, 12:07 AM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripped
Getting to work on dropping the engine in next week (I think)
I decided to run a powermaster 140 amp 1 wire alternator. The battery is in the trunk. I ran a secondary number 4 to the interior fuse panel, but it only has a 60 amp fuse. It runs the subwoofer amp, all the main car electrical systems, lighting radio, etc.

The wire I have running from the battery (in the trunk) to the starter is unfused #1 Ga. I was thinking of running the amp wire to the battery post on the starter.

Does anyone know of any potential problems in doing this?
It would be better to run the Amp wires to the battery. The battery acts as a noise filter. You may pick up some unwanted electrical wine/noise.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Basic of Basics" Welding - How do I repair body panels? Centerline Body - Exterior 33 03-31-2014 09:45 AM
How do I wire a 3 wire alternator when I used to have a 1 wire alternator??? billsbird Electrical 7 09-05-2007 09:01 AM
starter wire? yoyomo Electrical 1 08-24-2004 07:32 PM
57 Chevy generator to altenator swap Rodrunner Electrical 2 07-17-2002 09:59 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.