Opinions needed: chevy vs. ford...... - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-26-2007, 09:56 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Opinions needed: chevy vs. ford......

I have been lurking for a while. I am close to being able to start a hotrod...likely ratrod project. I like the early Chevy 49-59 and Ford 50-58 models. I have no distinct preference one way or the other. I have some basic mechanical knowledge but want to learn to do most of the work including learning how to weld (although I don't want to do a ton of this).

My rod is going to be my daily driver. It needs to handle reasonable well and stop well. The engine is less of a concern since I have seen many writeups on swaps and performance options in both styles. My biggest question relates to the ease and cost of switching to disc brakes up front and dropping the suspension for a lower stance. I won't have big bucks but I also don't have to scavenge everything as my name implies.

So.....Ford vs. Chevy in the ease of suspension/brake mods..........

Another question.
1/2 ton (shortbed) vs 3/4 ton (long bed). Are there any huge differences in terms of the front end brake/suspension work that I need to be aware of. I prefer the shortbed but I have seen a few more of the 3/4 ton in the papers lately so I may start with one.

Last edited by woodscavenger; 07-26-2007 at 10:03 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-26-2007, 10:31 PM

i'm not sure on those years specifically but 1/2 ton would probably be better for a start, unless you're planning a complete suspension swap and not just improving what is already there. also, 3/4 tend to be heavier from the get-go.