Orange Peel and baking - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-09-2003, 09:19 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Orange Peel and baking

Hello All I am new to this Hot Rod board but I have been painting for about 3 years, I mostly do small stuff, RC model airplanes (2 Meter class) bumpers, hoods, etc... I use PPG K36 primer DBU paint and ppg DCU 2021 clear. I shoot most every thing with a Harbor Freight HVLP gun. The problem I am having is when I shoot my clear I get a bit of orange peel effect. It is not overly bad but I would like to get it better. I have heard about baking paint for better finish results. I shoot on the pourch of my shop with plastic sheeting closeing every thing in. I wonder if after I get done shooting my clear if I waited 10-15 min for the gas and over spray to get sucked out I could turn on a heater to raise the temp in that area to warm up the paint to reduce the orange peel efect? Any suggections? Right now I am shooting a bumper for a maxima, I painted cleared and was wet sanding the peel out, and went through the clear in to the paint and have a faded spot.
so I need to redo it, I just don't want to have to sand as much this time.

any help out there.
Thanks guys...

Fozzyber

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-09-2003, 11:05 AM
Last photo: