Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board - View Single Post - The Ospho Solution..(rust removal)
View Single Post
Old 04-04-2010, 07:22 AM

Last wiki edit: Stripping paint Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 11

Sparky,
There are many ways to get a job done. As a young apprentice I was taught this method by an old timer. I've been using it ever since (over 25 yrs).I've always worked in shops that restored all kinds of autos and built drag cars,(Even met "Big Daddy" a couple times) ..
The man that taught me this ,worked at restoring rare, high dollar, cars for museums for years.
Sometimes sandblasting is NOT an option,mostly because of the mess ,the abrasives get everywhere ,in every nook and canny in the shop even with a booth its still gets spread around the shop.
Most body shops I've ever worked at don't do blasting at the shop and send that work out....That's what I would suggest doing if anyone has there heart set on media blasting,unfortunately, its expensive and requires a pro to properly strip a car and there's no guarantee it'll still be straight.(I prefer chemical stripping)
Then, when you get your car home you need to protect the bare metal right away with epoxy primer. Unfortunately,it takes time to properly prepare a car for primer.two to three times longer for a DIY... I
t doesn't matter what method you use to strip your car, Ospho will protect bare metal from surface rust for many, many months, I always apply the Ospho IMMEDIATELY after exposing the metal.Its been suggested and agreed upon that getting the epoxy on immediately is the proper way to go and no one should trust a sandblaster to prime their car properly, its a completely different trade.
So, this is how I start a resto,chemical strip and Ospho,its another option to letting your car get all rusty or after paying a small fortune getting it blasted,Letting it sit and rust is going backwards.