Hot Rod Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

The Ospho Solution..(rust removal)

353K views 664 replies 61 participants last post by  Lizer 
#1 ·
This is the start of a thread dedicated to successful rust removal using ospho,a water based phosphric acid product I've been using professionally for many years.
Ospho has some advantages over other methods, mainly a DIY can do it at home inexpensively with little mess,fairly easily.
I'll try to answer any questions and offer some advice on the successful use of this product.
.....First,I'll start with the most common use : To remove surface rust That has accumulated on unprotected steel....Then heavly rusted and pitted metal,and using it to prevent surface rust of freshly stripped steel...
The pics below show the trunk floor and wheel wells I made for my old car.After making the pieces and screwing them together ,it got cold out and I put the car up for a couple months and the steel got pretty rusty.
In the interest of time I'll just do a spot to show how its done and what Materials you'll need.Bare with me I'm a newbie with the computer.

Attachments

See less See more
#309 · (Edited)
Oki-doki I got another wire wheel..

And it didn't seem to do anything that the cupped one did (or didn't do).

This is the untouched rusted area with a number of good passes and bearing down pretty good.

This is bearing down pretty good in a small area.

This is my new best friend.

And this is the same area after a few passes with it.

And a little more....

This is a new area after the wire wheel........working it pretty hard.

This is with just a few passes with the abrasive wheel.

And after a little more..

Now, the magic wears off kinda quick, and they are $5 each. But I think they are worth it. Once is starts looking like this they start slowing down the cutting pretty quick. But I am wondering if I run it over a fresh grinding disc, say 36 grit, if it will clean it up so it's sharp again? hmmm