Hot Rod Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

The Ospho Solution..(rust removal)

353K views 664 replies 61 participants last post by  Lizer 
#1 ·
This is the start of a thread dedicated to successful rust removal using ospho,a water based phosphric acid product I've been using professionally for many years.
Ospho has some advantages over other methods, mainly a DIY can do it at home inexpensively with little mess,fairly easily.
I'll try to answer any questions and offer some advice on the successful use of this product.
.....First,I'll start with the most common use : To remove surface rust That has accumulated on unprotected steel....Then heavly rusted and pitted metal,and using it to prevent surface rust of freshly stripped steel...
The pics below show the trunk floor and wheel wells I made for my old car.After making the pieces and screwing them together ,it got cold out and I put the car up for a couple months and the steel got pretty rusty.
In the interest of time I'll just do a spot to show how its done and what Materials you'll need.Bare with me I'm a newbie with the computer.

Attachments

See less See more
#246 ·
Its actually more accurate to ask...... How many tried SPI and and switched to something else???? when something comes accross that is better I'll use it ...something tjhat has all the qualities of SPI epoxy that you can weld thru would be great but I'm not holding my breath...you think I want to do things the hard way? Heck no...
Heres some old pics showing what you need for heavy surface rust(No pitts) ...All I did was spray some ospho on ,scrubb it in with a red suff pad and wipe off with a paper shop towel (CLEAN ONES):nono: Took about a minuteand you can see the rust running off as soon as it hits the rusty steel ...I dont understand why you guys are having such a hard time with it..

Attachments

#251 ·