Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board

Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/)
-   Body - Exterior (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/body-exterior/)
-   -   The Ospho Solution..(rust removal) (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/ospho-solution-rust-removal-175465.html)

deadbodyman 03-30-2010 07:39 AM

The Ospho Solution..(rust removal)

4 Attachment(s)
This is the start of a thread dedicated to successful rust removal using ospho,a water based phosphric acid product I've been using professionally for many years.
Ospho has some advantages over other methods, mainly a DIY can do it at home inexpensively with little mess,fairly easily.
I'll try to answer any questions and offer some advice on the successful use of this product.
.....First,I'll start with the most common use : To remove surface rust That has accumulated on unprotected steel....Then heavly rusted and pitted metal,and using it to prevent surface rust of freshly stripped steel...
The pics below show the trunk floor and wheel wells I made for my old car.After making the pieces and screwing them together ,it got cold out and I put the car up for a couple months and the steel got pretty rusty.
In the interest of time I'll just do a spot to show how its done and what Materials you'll need.Bare with me I'm a newbie with the computer.

deadbodyman 03-30-2010 07:48 AM

1 Attachment(s)
You'll need a quart of Ospho, available at any body & paint supply store,some red scuff pads Pt#07747, rubber gloves and paper shop towels.

deadbodyman 03-30-2010 08:15 AM

1 Attachment(s)
I prefer a using a pump spray bottle (like an old windex bottle) but this will do for now.Apply ospho liberally and scrub it in with the scuff pad, keeping it wet, then wipe off the excess with the towels.let it sit 24 hrs.http://www.streetfire.net/video/rust...pho_743479.htm